Vancouver - Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 2 positions
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34552
Summary
- This is a 1-year sport and exercise medicine program that combines weekly longitudinal clinics with core rotations.
- Each week residents keep a half-day family practice clinic at UBC Health Clinic and a half-day varsity clinic.
- Residents cover events such as UBC varsity sports and Vancouver Whitecaps FC2 games, and take part in a research or quality improvement project.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
12 teaching sites
- UBC Sport and Exercise Medicine Clinic
- UBC Health Clinic
- UBC Hospital
Show all 12Show fewer
- Lion's Gate Hospital
- BC Children's Hospital
- Pacific Orthopedics and Sports Medicine
- Footbridge Centre for Integrated Orthopedic Care
- GF Strong Rehabilitation Centre
- SPH Hand Clinic
- ADVANCE Concussion Clinic
- Canadian Pain & Regenerative Institute
- Restore Sports Medicine Institute
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- family_practice_continuity
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- Event coverage includes Vancouver Whitecaps FC2 and the Harry Jerome International Track Event.
- MSK sports ultrasound teaching is a headline feature of the program.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Intro to Sport and Exercise Medicine (2 blocks)
- Foot & Ankle
- Radiology
- Sport Cardiology
- MSK-ER
- Pediatric Orthopedics and Sports Medicine
- Hands/Plastics
- Brain Health/Concussion
- Physiatry/EMG
- Orthopedics Sports Medicine
- Electives (2 blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- UBC Sport and Exercise Medicine Clinic (Vancouver)
- UBC Health Clinic (Vancouver)
- UBC Hospital (Vancouver)
- Lion's Gate Hospital (North Vancouver)
- BC Children's Hospital (Vancouver)
- Pacific Orthopedics and Sports Medicine (North Vancouver)
- Footbridge Centre for Integrated Orthopedic Care (Vancouver)
- GF Strong Rehabilitation Centre (Vancouver)
- SPH Hand Clinic (Vancouver)
- ADVANCE Concussion Clinic (Vancouver)
- Canadian Pain & Regenerative Institute (Vancouver)
- Restore Sports Medicine Institute (Burnaby)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
UBC Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,983
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,043
Lion's Gate Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 10,660
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,762
BC Children's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Lindsay Gowland
Enhanced Skills Program Manager
Program directors
Dr. Michael Orenstein
Sport & Exercise Medicine Program Director
Dr. Robert Saona
Enhanced Skills Program Director
Dr. Anmol Lamba
Enhanced Skills Assistant Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%