Toronto - Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 34592
Summary
- This 1-year enhanced skills program trains family medicine residents in Sport & Exercise Medicine.
- Training uses Toronto SEM clinics and hospitals, with a rural SEM block near The Blue Mountains.
- Residents complete 100 hours of required sport event coverage and keep a year-long half-day in family medicine.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Rural / remote
- Sites
9 teaching sites
- Mt Sinai Hospital
- Women's College Hospital
- Toronto Rehab Institute
Show all 9Show fewer
- University Health Network
- Sunnybrook Hospitals
- Toronto Western Hospital
- Community SEM Clinics
- Women's College Hospital Family Medicine Unit
- Collingwood/Wasaga Beach/Midland
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation
- Focus areas
- family_practice_continuity
- Rural / remote
- Highlights
- Rural SEM block near The Blue Mountains with high-volume skiing/snowboarding injuries.
- Resident MSK ultrasound probe available for practice throughout the year, with intro teaching sessions.
- Year-long weekly half-day back in family medicine at Women's College Hospital.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- SEM Introduction (4 · Community SEM Clinics; Mt Sinai Hospital)
- Specialty MSK (4 · Women's College Hospital; Toronto Rehab Institute; Community SEM Clinics; Collingwood/Wasaga Beach/Midland)
- Orthopaedics (3 · University Health Network; Women’s College Hospital; Mt. Sinai & Sunnybrook Hospitals)
- Sub Specialty Rotations (2 · Community SEM Clinics; Toronto Western Hospital; Women's College Hospital)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Mt Sinai Hospital (Toronto)
- Women's College Hospital (Toronto)
- Toronto Rehab Institute (Toronto)
- University Health Network (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Hospitals (Toronto)
- Toronto Western Hospital (Toronto)
- Community SEM Clinics (Toronto)
- Women's College Hospital Family Medicine Unit (Toronto)
- Collingwood/Wasaga Beach/Midland (rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Mark Leung
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%