Skip to content
residency.fyi

Sherbrooke - Neurology

Université de SherbrookeSherbrooke, QuebecRegular stream

CaRMS program description, 2027 match, last approved 9 Sep 2026 · See the 2026 version

2027 match programs, from CaRMS as of 5 Oct 2026. Programs can still change until file review opens 26 November; we re-check every two weeks. Always confirm on CaRMS (opens in a new tab).

Positions (approx. quota)
3 positions
Length
5 years
Stream
Regular
Discipline
Neurology
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
35415

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • This is a five-year neurology residency at Université de Sherbrooke, with CHUS as the main training site.
  • Rotations at Hôpital Charles-LeMoyne and CHU Ste-Justine are mandatory, and other sites are available as electives.
  • All residents must submit a research project starting in R2, and an optional clinician-researcher program adds one year with protected research time.
  • The interview is virtual and takes place on 2 February 2027.

Training

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
  • Regional community
Sites

11 teaching sites

  • CHUS (Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Sherbrooke)
  • Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne incluant la clinique Neuro Rive-Sud
  • Hôpital Ste-Justine
Show all 11
  • CHUL (centre mère-enfant de Québec)
  • l'hôpital pour enfants de Montréal
  • Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec)
  • Hôpital de Chicoutimi
  • Maisonneuve-Rosemont
  • Sacré-Cœur
  • Pierre-Boucher
  • Trois-Rivières

Distributed across a region

Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Early independence
  • Small program
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Training language
French
Highlights
  • Supervised autonomy on call starting in R2, with direct contact with referring physicians.
  • Residents can become competent and independent in EEG and EMG by the end of residency.

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Neurologie générale (unité d'enseignement, consultations à l'urgence, consultations à l'étage) (Progression vers la discipline)
  • Psychiatrie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • Neurochirurgie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • MD urgence (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • Soins intensifs (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • MD interne (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2 périodes)
  • Cardiologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • Rhumatologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • Gériatrie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • Maladies infectieuses (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline)
  • Neurologie générale (unité d'enseignement, consultations à l'urgence, consultations à l'étage) (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 7-8 périodes · CHUS et/ou CHCLM)
  • Neurologie générale Chicoutimi (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · Chicoutimi)
  • Recherche (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 1 période minimum)
  • Neuroradiologie (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2 à 3 périodes)
  • Électifs (Acquisition des fondements de la discipline · 2 à 3 périodes)
  • EEG (Maîtrise de la discipline · 3-4 périodes)
  • EMG (Maîtrise de la discipline · 3-4 périodes)
  • Neuropédiatrie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 3 périodes · Ste-Justine ou Children-1 période possible CHUS Fleurimont)
  • Neuropathologie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 2 périodes)
  • Cliniques externes spécialisées (Maîtrise de la discipline · 4 périodes minimum · CHUS et/ou Neuro Rive-Sud)
  • Neuropsychiatrie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Recherche (Maîtrise de la discipline · 2 périodes minimum)
  • Neurologie générale (unité d'enseignement, consultations à l'urgence, consultations à l'étage) (Maîtrise de la discipline · 6 périodes · CHUS et/ou CHCLM et/ou Chicoutimi)
  • Soins palliatifs (Maîtrise de la discipline · 1 période)
  • Électifs (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • Neurologie générale (unité d'enseignement, consultations à l'urgence, consultations à l'étage) (Transition vers la pratique · 3 périodes minimum · CHUS et/ou CHCLM)
  • EEG (Transition vers la pratique · 3-4 périodes)
  • EMG (Transition vers la pratique · 3-4 périodes)
  • Électifs (Transition vers la pratique)

Selection

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%

Interviews

Dates (2027 match)
2 Feb 2027
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Panel

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Benefits

Benefits as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024; check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028.

Teaching sites

  • CHUS (Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Sherbrooke) (Sherbrooke)
  • Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne incluant la clinique Neuro Rive-Sud
  • Hôpital Ste-Justine (Montréal)
  • CHUL (centre mère-enfant de Québec) (Québec)
  • l'hôpital pour enfants de Montréal (Montréal)
  • Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec) (Québec)
  • Hôpital de Chicoutimi (Chicoutimi · rural or distributed site)
  • Maisonneuve-Rosemont
  • Sacré-Cœur
  • Pierre-Boucher
  • Trois-Rivières (Trois-Rivières · rural or distributed site)

Hospital facts

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

CHUS (Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Sherbrooke)

This name covers 2 hospitals in the province’s lists. Each is shown on its own, A to Z, and the numbers are never added together.

CHUS - Hôpital Fleurimont (Sherbrooke)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 18,141 · 2026–2027: 19,532 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 365 · psychiatry 6 · neonatology 20 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.
CHUS - Hôtel-Dieu de Sherbrooke (Sherbrooke)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 18,578 · 2026–2027: 18,319 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 216 · psychiatry 105 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne incluant la clinique Neuro Rive-Sud

Matched to Hôpital Charles-le Moyne (Longueuil) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,073 · 2026–2027: 30,629 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 571 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôpital Ste-Justine

Matched to CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.
Show facts for 7 more sites

CHUL (centre mère-enfant de Québec)

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 296 · neonatology 56 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

l'hôpital pour enfants de Montréal

Matched to L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.

Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec)

Matched to Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 335 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Hôpital de Chicoutimi

Matched to Hôpital de Chicoutimi (Saguenay) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 20,522 · 2026–2027: 21,228 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 311 · psychiatry 57 · neonatology 19 · hôtellerie 21 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Maisonneuve-Rosemont

Matched to Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Sacré-Cœur

Matched to Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur-de-Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 420 · geriatrics 20 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Pierre-Boucher

Matched to Hôpital Pierre-Boucher (Longueuil) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 23,690 · 2026–2027: 24,579 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 334 · psychiatry 35 · neonatology 15 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

neuroprogramme-fmss@usherbrooke.ca

Mélanie Rémillard · Secrétaire du programme de neurologie

Program director

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Sherbrooke, Quebec

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−9.5 °C Lennoxville, 9.1 km away
July average
19.7 °C Lennoxville, 9.1 km away
Snowfall
290.6 cm a year Coaticook, 28.5 km away
Days below −20 °C
23.1 days a year Lennoxville, 9.1 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Sherbrooke, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
172,950 people up 7.2% from 2016
Official languages
English only 1.7% · French only 51.6% · English and French 46.1% · neither 0.7% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
8.8% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 2.4% · non-permanent residents: 2.2%
Indigenous identity
1.7% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 87.3% · public transit 4.9% · walking or cycling 6.4% · other 1.4% Average commute: 18.3 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$62,400 before tax $55,200 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Sherbrooke, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people) 151,157 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.156 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
2.7% October 2025 survey, Sherbrooke, Quebec (census metropolitan area). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$47,414 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Quebec, population 100,000 to 499,999, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.
Unemployment rate
4.0% September 2026, three-month average, seasonally adjusted, Sherbrooke, Quebec (census metropolitan area); standard error 0.6 points. A survey estimate.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Good The employment outlook will be Good for specialists in clinical and laboratory medicine (NOC 31100) in the Estrie region for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for specialists in clinical and laboratory medicine, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0130-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 14-10-0459-01 Labour force characteristics by census metropolitan area, three-month moving average, seasonally adjusted, reference month 2026-09. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on residency.fyi 6 Oct 2026.