Skip to content
residency.fyi

Saskatoon - Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia

University of SaskatchewanSaskatoon, SaskatchewanCompetitive stream

Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match

Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").

CaRMS program description, FM/ES 2027 match, last approved 17 Jul 2026

Positions (approx. quota)
3 positions
Length
1 year
Stream
Competitive
Discipline
Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
34650

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • This one-year Family Practice Anesthesia program trains family physicians to provide anesthesia services in rural Canada and leads to eligibility for a Certificate of Added Competence.
  • Most training occurs in Saskatoon operating rooms, including obstetric, pediatric, ICU and adult anesthesia rotations.
  • Residents spend two months in a Saskatchewan community hospital and may spend two weeks with a rural Family Practice Anesthesiologist.
  • Practising family physicians may apply, and NRP and ACLS are required courses.

Training

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
  • Rural / remote
Sites

8 teaching sites

  • Royal University Hospital
  • Jim Pattison Children's Hospital
  • St. Paul's Hospital
Show all 8
  • Saskatoon City Hospital
  • Victoria Hospital
  • Battlefords Union Hospital
  • Dr. F.H. Wigmore Regional Hospital
  • Cypress Regional Hospital
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (2 weeks)
Training language
English

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single year.

  • Obstetric Anesthesia (2 months · Royal University Hospital, Jim Pattison Children's Hospital)
  • Pediatric Anesthesia (1 month · Jim Pattison Children's Hospital)
  • ICU (1 month · Royal University Hospital)
  • Adult General Anesthesia & Consults (5-6 months · Royal University Hospital, St. Paul's Hospital, Saskatoon City Hospital)
  • Community Anesthesia (2 months · North Battleford and/or Prince Albert)
  • Rural Practice Anesthesia (2 weeks · Melfort and/or Meadow Lake communities)

Selection

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page
Applications per year
0–50
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%

Interviews

Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
3 Nov 2026
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel
  • MMI or rotating station

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Contract expired, may change.

Annual salary by PGY level, Saskatchewan
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-3
$80,700 / year

One provincial scale for Saskatchewan, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing PGY-3, the level FM/ES residents usually start at. Yours depends on your training so far.

Benefits

Benefits as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024; check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual vacation
4 weeks
CMPA dues paid
100%
Dental plan
100%
Educational leave
Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
Employee Assistance Program
Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
Extended health insurance
Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
Frequency of call
1:4 in-house (if in excess of 1:4 paid $196/period from 1700-0800 weekdays and $249 from 0800-0800 weekends)*;1:3 out-of-house
Life insurance
Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
Long-term disability insurance
Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
Maternity leave/ Paternity
In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
Meal allowance
n/a
On-Call Stipends
Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1 %
Provincial health insurance
Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
Sick leave
1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
Statutory and floating holidays
1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

RDoS agreement, 1 Jan 2023 to 31 Dec 2025. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed.

Teaching sites

  • Royal University Hospital (Saskatoon)
  • Jim Pattison Children's Hospital (Saskatoon)
  • St. Paul's Hospital (Saskatoon)
  • Saskatoon City Hospital (Saskatoon)
  • Victoria Hospital (Prince Albert · rural or distributed site)
  • Battlefords Union Hospital (North Battleford · rural or distributed site)
  • Dr. F.H. Wigmore Regional Hospital (Moose Jaw · rural or distributed site)
  • Cypress Regional Hospital (Swift Current · rural or distributed site)

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

chelsea.malkowich@usask.ca

Chelsea Malkowich · Department of Anesthesia, Perioperative Medicine, and Pain Management Program Administrator

Program director

  • Dr. Matthew Johnson

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−15.4 °C Saskatoon Diefenbaker (Airport), 5.3 km away
July average
18.3 °C Saskatoon Diefenbaker (Airport), 5.3 km away
Snowfall
91.0 cm a year Saskatoon Diefenbaker (Airport), 5.3 km away
Days below −20 °C
49.4 days a year Saskatoon Diefenbaker (Airport), 5.3 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Saskatoon, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
266,141 people up 7.7% from 2016
Official languages
English only 92.1% · French only 0.0% · English and French 6.5% · neither 1.4% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
20.4% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 6.5% · non-permanent residents: 2.0%
Indigenous identity
11.5% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 89.2% · public transit 3.4% · walking or cycling 5.4% · other 2.0% Average commute: 17.5 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$85,000 before tax $74,500 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Saskatoon, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people) 264,637 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.216 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
3.1% October 2025 survey, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan (census metropolitan area). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$55,881 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.
Unemployment rate
5.9% September 2026, three-month average, seasonally adjusted, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan (census metropolitan area); standard error 0.5 points. A survey estimate.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0130-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 14-10-0459-01 Labour force characteristics by census metropolitan area, three-month moving average, seasonally adjusted, reference month 2026-09. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on residency.fyi 8 Oct 2026.