Rural Collingwood - Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia
McMaster UniversityRural Collingwood, OntarioCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34620
Summary
- This 12-month PGY3 Family Practice Anesthesia program trains family physicians to provide anesthesia alongside primary practice to serve rural populations.
- Training combines tertiary care centres in Hamilton, regional community hospitals such as Barrie, and smaller community hospitals such as Collingwood and Grimsby.
- Resuscitative skills with an emphasis on human factors are taught through simulation.
Training
- Setting
- Mixed settings
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Rural / remote
- Sites
1 teaching site
- Hamilton General Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Hamilton (Obstetrics Focus) (2 Blocks · Hamilton)
- FP Anesthesia (1 week)
- Community Anesthesia (2 Blocks)
- FPA Anesthesia (2 Blocks)
- Community Anesthesia (2 Blocks)
- Hamilton (Pediatric Focus) (2 Blocks · Hamilton)
- FPA Anesthesia (1 week)
- FPA Anesthesia (1 Block)
- Hamilton General Hospital, Hamilton (General, Trauma, High Acuity Focus) (2 Blocks · Hamilton General Hospital, Hamilton)
- FPA Anesthesia (1 week)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 5 Nov 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hamilton General Hospital (Hamilton)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program director
Dr. Jesse Guscott
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Other contacts
Connie Shen
Senior Education Associate
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Rural Collingwood, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −5.0 °C
- July average
- 20.8 °C
- Snowfall
- 174.1 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 3.3 days a year
People
- Population
- 24,811 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.0% · English and French 7.5% · neither 0.2%
- Immigrants
- 13.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 86.8% · public transit 1.3% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 2.3%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Collingwood, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.126
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 4.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $52,873 a year