Ottawa - Family Medicine - Palliative Care
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
Also at Ottawa, outside the CaRMS match: Palliative Medicine - re-entry positions (Category 1 program, non-CaRMS entry), 12 months (13 blocks), for practising or certified family physicians. Applications: No single close date stated (as of 10 Oct 2026). See it ›: Palliative Medicine - re-entry positions (Category 1 program, non-CaRMS entry), on the list of programs applied for at the school
- 3 positions
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Palliative Care
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34649
Summary
- This 1-year enhanced skills program trains family physicians to provide primary and consultant palliative care.
- Based at St. Vincent's Hospital, residents rotate across sites in Ottawa including The Ottawa Hospital General and Civic campuses and community palliative care teams.
- The year includes a longitudinal cancer-centre palliative clinic every four weeks, three elective blocks, and a required scholarly project.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Bruyère Health, St. Vincent's Hospital (SVH)
- The Ottawa Hospital (TOH) General Campus
- Ottawa Heart Institute
Show all 5Show fewer
- The Ottawa Hospital Cancer Centre
- Irving Greenberg Family Cancer Centre on the campus of the Queensway Carleton Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Getting around
- A car is required
- Highlights
- Final two-block palliative care unit rotation in a junior staff role, precepting other learners and managing the team.
- Bimonthly one-on-one 'Verbatims' communication coaching by a social worker or spiritual care professional.
- Trains alongside the Royal College palliative medicine subspecialty program with high interaction between residents.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Palliative Care Unit (B01 · Bruyere)
- Palliative Care Unit (B02 · Bruyere)
- Regional Palliative Consultation Team (B03)
- Elective (B04)
- Palliative Care Consults (B05 · TOH-General)
- Palliative Care Consults (B06 · TOH-General)
- Elective (B07)
- Community Palliative Care (B08)
- Palliative Care Consults (B09 · TOH-Civic)
- Elective (B10)
- Oncology (B11)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 Nov 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Bruyère Health, St. Vincent's Hospital (SVH) (Ottawa)
- The Ottawa Hospital (TOH) General Campus (Ottawa)
- Ottawa Heart Institute (Ottawa)
- The Ottawa Hospital Cancer Centre (Ottawa)
- Irving Greenberg Family Cancer Centre on the campus of the Queensway Carleton Hospital (Ottawa)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Alexandre Rochon
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
- uOttawa Family Medicine, PGY3 Enhanced Skills Programs(opens in a new tab)
- Program Overview Video(opens in a new tab)
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%