Montreal - Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine
McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 2 positions
- 1 year
- Regular
- Family Medicine - Sport and Exercise Medicine
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34670
Summary
- McGill's one-year Sport and Exercise Medicine program, established in 1993, is clinically oriented toward sports-related injuries in primary care.
- Training is longitudinal at the McGill Sport Medicine Clinic, with Varsity team coverage and non-operative orthopedic clinics at the Montreal General Hospital.
- Residents complete 4-week MSK-ER rotations at the McGill University Health Centre and Lakeshore General Hospital and a required scholarly project.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- The McGill Sport Medicine Clinic
- The McGill University Health Centre
- Montreal General Hospital
Show all 4Show fewer
- Lakeshore General Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- family_practice_continuity
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Training language
- English and French
- Highlights
- Residents are assigned to McGill Varsity teams as first-call for injuries and sideline game coverage.
- Longitudinal non-operative orthopedics clinics include exposure to CNESST and SAAQ (workplace and auto-insurance) cases.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Sport and Exercise Medicine (Longitudinal schedule · McGill Sport Medicine Clinic)
- McGill Varsity team involvement with on-field game coverage (Longitudinal schedule)
- Non-Operative Orthopedics (Longitudinal schedule · Montreal General Hospital)
- Longitudinal Family Medicine Clinic (Longitudinal schedule · 0.5 day every 2 weeks)
- MSK-ER (Rotations · 4 weeks · McGill University Health Centre)
- MSK-ER (Rotations · 4 weeks · Lakeshore General Hospital)
- Physiatry (Rotations · 2-4 weeks)
- Adult Rheumatology (Rotations · 2 weeks)
- Option for elective rotation based on the resident's interests (e.g. Pediatric Emergency) (Rotations)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- The McGill Sport Medicine Clinic (Montreal)
- The McGill University Health Centre (Montreal)
- Montreal General Hospital (Montreal)
- Lakeshore General Hospital
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
The McGill University Health Centre
Hôpital de Lachine (Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 8,296 · 2026–2027: 8,612
- Licensed beds
- physical health 56
Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
- Licensed beds
- physical health 236 · psychiatry 46
Hôpital Neurologique de Montréal (Montréal)
- Licensed beds
- physical health 90
Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604
L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552
Montreal General Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
- Licensed beds
- physical health 236 · psychiatry 46
Lakeshore General Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,918 · 2026–2027: 15,905
- Licensed beds
- physical health 234 · psychiatry 31
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Kathryn Sun
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%