Montreal - Family Medicine - Palliative Care
McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 3 positions
- 1 year
- Regular
- Family Medicine - Palliative Care
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34539
Summary
- This one-year, 13-rotation palliative medicine program trains family physicians to provide primary and consultant palliative care, with nine rotations on palliative medicine services.
- Training takes place across McGill-affiliated hospitals and palliative care residences, including two months at the Jewish General Hospital.
- Residents complete a required scholarly project with a half-day of protected time weekly and keep family medicine clinics during the year.
Training
- Setting
- Mixed settings
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
10 teaching sites
- Jewish General Hospital
- McGill University Health Centre (MUHC) Glen Site - Royal Victoria Hospital
- Lachine Hospital
Show all 10Show fewer
- The Montreal Neurological Hospital
- St. Mary's Hospital
- Mount Sinai Hospital
- Lakeshore General Hospital
- St. Raphael Palliative Care Home and Day Centre
- Teresa Dellar Palliative Care Residence
- Maison Libella
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- family_practice_continuity
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Call
- frequency “two weekend days per month”
- Training language
- English and French
- Highlights
- Residents follow 2–3 of their own home-care palliative patients for the rest of the year.
- Includes a Supportive Care Counselling course in end-of-life communication and counselling skills.
- The program organizes the International Congress on Palliative Care.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Medical oncology (one month)
- Radiation oncology (one month)
- Selective Month (month)
- Jewish General Hospital (Palliative Tertiary Care) (two months · Jewish General Hospital)
- Glen Site Supportive and Palliative Care Services (McGill University Health Centre (MUHC) Glen Site - Royal Victoria Hospital)
- St. Raphael Palliative Care Home and Day Centre (St. Raphael Palliative Care Home and Day Centre)
- Teresa Dellar Palliative Care Residence (Teresa Dellar Palliative Care Residence)
- community-based palliative care service (Lakeshore General Hospital)
- Maison Libella (Hudson, Quebec)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Jewish General Hospital (Montreal)
- McGill University Health Centre (MUHC) Glen Site - Royal Victoria Hospital (Montreal)
- Lachine Hospital (Montreal)
- The Montreal Neurological Hospital (Montreal)
- St. Mary's Hospital (Montreal)
- Mount Sinai Hospital (Montreal)
- Lakeshore General Hospital
- St. Raphael Palliative Care Home and Day Centre (Montreal)
- Teresa Dellar Palliative Care Residence (Kirkland)
- Maison Libella (Hudson)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Jewish General Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
- Licensed beds
- physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34
McGill University Health Centre (MUHC) Glen Site - Royal Victoria Hospital
- Licensed beds
- physical health 480 · psychiatry 8 · neonatology 52
Lachine Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 8,296 · 2026–2027: 8,612
- Licensed beds
- physical health 56
Show facts for 3 more sitesShow fewer
The Montreal Neurological Hospital
- Licensed beds
- physical health 90
St. Mary's Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 13,990 · 2026–2027: 14,053
- Licensed beds
- physical health 224 · psychiatry 29 · geriatrics 24
Lakeshore General Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,918 · 2026–2027: 15,905
- Licensed beds
- physical health 234 · psychiatry 31
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Golda Tradounsky
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%