Kingston - Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia
Queen’s UniversityKingston, OntarioCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 2 positions
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34681
Summary
- Queen's Family Practice Anesthesia is a 1-year, 13-block program training family physicians to work as anesthetists in community hospitals.
- Six anesthesia blocks are at Kingston Health Sciences Centre with a longitudinal rotation at Lennox and Addington County General Hospital.
- Residents complete a scholarly project and attend the mandatory NOSM FPA Bootcamp.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Urban community
- Sites
9 teaching sites
- Kingston Health Sciences Centre
- Kingston General Hospital
- Hotel Dieu Hospital
Show all 9Show fewer
- Lennox and Addington County General Hospital
- Belleville General Hospital
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
- Lakeridge Health - Oshawa Hospital
- Peterborough Regional Health Centre
- Northumberland Hills Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Early independence
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Highlights
- Longitudinal anesthesia rotation at a Napanee hospital staffed entirely by family practice anesthetists.
- Required block in a community of choice combining primary care and anesthesia to maintain family medicine skills.
- Mandatory NOSM FPA Bootcamp attendance with financial support from Queen's.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Anesthesia (6 blocks · Kingston Health Sciences Centre; Lennox and Addington County General Hospital (longitudinal))
- Adult Intensive Care Unit (1 block · Belleville General Hospital)
- Pediatric Anesthesia (1 block · CHEO)
- Obstetrical Anesthesia (1 block · Lakeridge Health - Oshawa Hospital)
- Acute Pain/ Regional Anesthesia (1 block · Kingston Health Sciences Centre)
- Community Anesthesia (1 block · Peterborough Regional Health Centre)
- Community Anesthesia (1 block · Northumberland Hills Hospital)
- Primary care/Community Anesthesia (1 block · Community of choice (elective))
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- IMG requirements
- “MCCQE Part I is required for IMG applicants”
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Kingston Health Sciences Centre (Kingston)
- Kingston General Hospital (Kingston)
- Hotel Dieu Hospital (Kingston)
- Lennox and Addington County General Hospital (Napanee · rural or distributed site)
- Belleville General Hospital (Belleville · rural or distributed site)
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (Ottawa)
- Lakeridge Health - Oshawa Hospital (Oshawa)
- Peterborough Regional Health Centre (Peterborough · rural or distributed site)
- Northumberland Hills Hospital (rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Cameron MacLean
Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
- Queen’s Family Practice Anesthesia Website(opens in a new tab)
- Queen's University Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine(opens in a new tab)
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Kingston, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.0 °C
- July average
- 20.8 °C
- Snowfall
- 158.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 13.2 days a year
People
- Population
- 132,485 people
- Official languages
- English only 85.8% · French only 0.2% · English and French 13.4% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 13.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 4.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 6.2% · walking or cycling 10.0% · other 2.3%
- Median household income
- $79,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Kingston, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.216
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,744 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.6%