Calgary - Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 2 positions
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Care of the Elderly
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34686
Summary
- This is a 1-year Care of the Elderly enhanced skills program based in Calgary.
- Core rotations include geriatric psychiatry, inpatient geriatric consults at Rockyview and Foothills, and a rural geriatric block in Lethbridge.
- Residents complete a research/scholarship block and longitudinal clinics in geriatric outpatient care and long term care.
- Interviews are virtual.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Regional community
- Sites
8 teaching sites
- Foothills Medical Centre
- Rockyview General Hospital
- Sheldon M. Chumir Health Centre
Show all 8Show fewer
- Bridgeland Seniors Health Centre
- Carewest Sarcee
- Carewest C3 Beddington
- The Alex Seniors Clinic
- Lethbridge
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Training language
- English
- Highlights
- Shared academic half day with the Division of Geriatrics / Geriatric Internal Medicine program.
- Dedicated vulnerable patients block at The Alex Seniors Clinic.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Geriatric Psychiatry - Inpatient and outpatient (Core rotations · 2 blocks)
- In-patient Geriatric consult service (Core rotations · 2 blocks · Rockyview & Foothills Hospitals)
- Acute Geriatric Unit (Core rotations · 1 block · Rockyview General Hospital)
- Rural Geriatric experience (Core rotations · 1 block · Lethbridge, AB)
- Carewest C3 comprehensive adult day program (Core rotations · 2 blocks · Carewest C3)
- Community palliative and hospice (Core rotations · 1 block)
- Vulnerable patients block (Core rotations · 1 block · The Alex Seniors Clinic)
- Elective (Core rotations · 2 blocks)
- Research/Scholarship (Core rotations · 1 block)
- Specialized geriatric outpatient residents' clinic (Longitudinal rotations)
- Long term care (Longitudinal rotations)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- IMG requirements
- “Unfortunately, we are unable to accept international applicants who do not hold a CCFP designation.”
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 26 Oct 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Foothills Medical Centre (Calgary)
- Rockyview General Hospital (Calgary)
- Sheldon M. Chumir Health Centre (Calgary)
- Bridgeland Seniors Health Centre (Calgary)
- Carewest Sarcee (Calgary)
- Carewest C3 Beddington (Calgary)
- The Alex Seniors Clinic
- Lethbridge (Lethbridge · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Tannis Dorscht
Enhanced Skills Team Lead
Program directors
Dr. Danielle Carpentier
Program Director
Dr. Ronald Garnett
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
- Care of the Elderly Program Description(opens in a new tab)
- Why Enhanced Skills?(opens in a new tab)
- Travel Alberta(opens in a new tab)
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Calgary, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.6 °C
- July average
- 16.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 138.7 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 21.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,306,784 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.5%
- Immigrants
- 33.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 83.2% · public transit 8.8% · walking or cycling 5.1% · other 2.9%
- Median household income
- $98,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Calgary, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.106
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 4.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,153 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.3%