Skip to content
residency.fyi

Winnipeg - Orthopedic Surgery

University of ManitobaWinnipeg, ManitobaCMG stream

CANPREPPCANPREPPContacts

CaRMS program description, 2027 match, last approved 11 Sep 2026 · See the 2026 version

2027 match programs, from CaRMS as of 5 Oct 2026. Programs can still change until file review opens 26 November; we re-check every two weeks. Always confirm on CaRMS (opens in a new tab).

Positions (approx. quota)
3 positions
Length
5 years
Stream
CMG
Discipline
Orthopedic Surgery
Applications per year
51–200
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
35301

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • The University of Manitoba Orthopedic Surgery program is a 5-year program with 6 months of core rotations in affiliated specialties and 57 months of orthopaedic surgery.
  • Training is based at the Health Sciences Centre, Pan Am Clinic, Concordia Hip and Knee Institute and Children's Hospital in Winnipeg, with no mandatory rural rotations.
  • All residents are expected to do clinical research and present at a Research Day, with a weekly protected research half day.

Training

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Sites

5 teaching sites

  • Health Sciences Centre
  • Pan Am Clinic
  • Concordia Hip and Knee Institute
Show all 5
  • Children's Hospital
  • Concordia Hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Highlights
  • Optional scholar stream through a one-year MSc degree for research-inclined residents.
  • Orthopedic Surgery Research Day is held jointly with the University of Saskatchewan.
  • Pan Am Foundation skills lab offers virtual reality arthroscopy training and biomechanics research equipment.

By year

PGY-1
  • Adult Trauma Orthopedic Surgery3 Blocks
  • Pediatric Orthopedic Surgery3 Blocks
  • Foot and Ankle Surgery1 Block
  • Orthopedic Hand Surgery1 Block
  • Orthopedic Sports Surgery1 Block
  • Trauma (Gold) Surgery1 Block
  • Emergency Medicine1 Block
  • Orthopedic Spine Surgery1 Block
  • Adult Reconstruction Orthopedic Surgery1 Block
PGY-2
  • Adult Trauma Orthopedic Surgery2 Blocks
  • Sports Orthopedic Surgery2 Blocks
  • Adult Reconstruction Orthopedic Surgery2 Blocks
  • Pediatric Orthopedic Surgery1 Block
  • Surgical Intensive Care Unit1 Block
  • Perioperative Medicine1 Block
  • Vascular Surgery1 Block
  • Plastic Hand Surgery1 Block
  • Orthopedic Oncology1 Block
  • Orthopedic Spine Surgery1 Block
PGY-3
  • Adult Reconstruction Orthopedic Surgery3 Blocks
  • Pediatric Orthopedic Surgery3 Blocks
  • Orthopedic Spine Surgery3 Blocks
  • Adult Trauma Orthopedic Surgery2 Blocks
  • Orthopedic Oncology1 Block
  • Orthopedic Sports Surgery1 Block
PGY-4
  • Orthopedic Sports Surgery3 Blocks
  • Internal or External Electives3 Blocks
  • Adult Reconstruction Orthopedic Surgery2 Blocks
  • Foot and Ankle Surgery2 Blocks
  • Adult Trauma Orthopedic Surgery1 Block
  • Pediatric Orthopedic Surgery1 Block
  • Orthopedic Hand Surgery1 Block
PGY-5
  • Adult Trauma Orthopedic Surgery2 Blocks
  • Sports Orthopedic Surgery2 Blocks
  • Spine Orthopedic Surgery2 Blocks
  • Pediatric Orthopedic Surgery2 Blocks
  • Exam Preparation2 Blocks
  • Adult Reconstruction Orthopedic Surgery1 Block
  • Pediatric Orthopedic Surgery1 Block
  • Orthopedic Oncology1 Block

From the program's rotation list.

Selection

Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Applications per year
51–200
Applicants offered interviews
76–100%

Interviews

Dates (2027 match)
20 Jan 2027
Mode
Virtual
Format
  • Panel

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year
PGY-3
$83,372 / year
PGY-4
$89,329 / year
PGY-5
$95,285 / year

One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027.

Teaching sites

  • Health Sciences Centre (Winnipeg)
  • Pan Am Clinic (Winnipeg)
  • Concordia Hip and Knee Institute (Winnipeg)
  • Children's Hospital (Winnipeg)
  • Concordia Hospital (Winnipeg)

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

ortho.surg@umanitoba.ca

Vianney Karalash · Program Administrator

Program director

  • Dr. Tudor Tufescu

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

Winnipeg, Manitoba

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−16.3 °C Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away
July average
19.5 °C Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away
Snowfall
126.2 cm a year Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away
Days below −20 °C
51.9 days a year Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Winnipeg, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
749,607 people up 6.3% from 2016
Official languages
English only 88.5% · French only 0.2% · English and French 9.7% · neither 1.7% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
27.3% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 6.2% · non-permanent residents: 4.1%
Indigenous identity
12.4% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 82.6% · public transit 9.3% · walking or cycling 6.1% · other 2.0% Average commute: 21.8 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$80,000 before tax $69,500 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Winnipeg, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people) 758,515 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.146 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Rental vacancy rate
2.8% October 2025 survey, Winnipeg, Manitoba (census metropolitan area). The share of purpose-built rentals (three units and over) vacant, not a rent.
Basic cost of living
$55,813 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Winnipeg, Manitoba, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.
Unemployment rate
5.0% September 2026, three-month average, seasonally adjusted, Winnipeg, Manitoba (census metropolitan area); standard error 0.4 points. A survey estimate.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Good The employment outlook will be Good for specialists in surgery (NOC 31101) in the Winnipeg region for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for specialists in surgery, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Adapted from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Rental Market Survey, October 2025 (vacancy rates), and Statistics Canada, Table 34-10-0130-01. This does not constitute an endorsement by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation or Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 14-10-0459-01 Labour force characteristics by census metropolitan area, three-month moving average, seasonally adjusted, reference month 2026-09. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on residency.fyi 6 Oct 2026.