Vancouver - Orthopedic Surgery
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 5 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Orthopedic Surgery
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35272
Summary
- UBC's five-year orthopaedic surgery residency trains residents across 9 university-affiliated hospitals, and most clinical rotations take place at Vancouver General Hospital.
- PGY4 includes a 2-block community orthopaedics rotation in Prince George, and PGME helps with accommodation and reimburses travel for it.
- Residents must present research at the annual Research Day in at least three of their five years.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Regional community
- Sites
10 teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital
- UBC Hospital
- BC Children's Hospital
Show all 10Show fewer
- St Paul's Hospital
- Royal Columbian Hospital
- Eagle Ridge Hospital
- University Hospital of Northern BC
- Richmond General
- Burnaby General
- Lions Gate Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Full tuition support for mandatory external AO Basic and Advanced Fracture Fixation courses and the COA Basic Science Course.
- Brett Kilb Memorial Fund offers one year of funding ($20,000) for residents pursuing an advanced degree.
By year
- PGY-1
- orthopaedic trauma surgery4 blocks
- plastic surgery2 blocks
- general surgery trauma service1 block
- vascular surgery1 block
- perioperative medicine on the VGH hip fracture service1 block
- Surgical Foundations "CRASH" course1 block
- Orthopaedic Surgery "Bootcamp" course1 block
- "junior" foot and ankle surgery1 block
- "junior" upper extremity surgery1 block
- PGY-2
- paediatric orthopaedic surgery3 blocks
- orthopaedic trauma surgery2 blocks
- spine surgery2 blocks
- arthroscopic surgery and orthopaedics sports medicine2 blocks
- hip and knee arthroplasty2 blocks
- ICU1 block
- subspecialty elective1 block
- PGY-3
- hip and knee arthroplasty3 blocks
- arthroscopic surgery and orthopaedics sports medicine3 blocks
- foot and ankle surgery3 blocks
- spine surgery2 blocks
- hand surgery1 blocks
- community elective1 block
- PGY-4
- paediatric orthopaedic surgery3 blocks
- adult MSK oncology2 blocks
- orthopaedic trauma2 blocks
- general and community orthopaedic surgery2 blocks
- hand and upper extremity surgery2 blocks
- elective2 blocks
- PGY-5
- orthopaedic trauma3 blocks
- three-block electives3 three-block electives
- knowledge consolidation and review, and completion of the RCPS OSCE examination for orthopaedic surgery1 block
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital (Vancouver)
- UBC Hospital (Vancouver)
- BC Children's Hospital (Vancouver)
- St Paul's Hospital (Vancouver)
- Royal Columbian Hospital (New Westminster)
- Eagle Ridge Hospital
- University Hospital of Northern BC (Prince George · rural or distributed site)
- Richmond General (Richmond)
- Burnaby General (Burnaby)
- Lions Gate Hospital
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Vancouver General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
UBC Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,983
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,043
BC Children's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
Show facts for 7 more sitesShow fewer
St Paul's Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Royal Columbian Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Eagle Ridge Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 6,014
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,496
University Hospital of Northern BC
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,520
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,127
Richmond General
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 6,446
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,680
Burnaby General
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,388
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,058
Lions Gate Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 10,660
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,762
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
“Please use email for all inquiries” · the program’s note on CaRMS
Program director
“Please use email for all inquiries” · the program’s note on CaRMS
Dr. Henry Broekhuyse
Director of the Residency Program
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage