Vancouver - Emergency Medicine
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 6 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Emergency Medicine
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36063
Summary
- This is the Vancouver site of the five-year UBC Royal College Emergency Medicine residency, based at Vancouver General Hospital.
- Residents also rotate at BC Children's Hospital, St. Paul's and community-based EDs in the same city.
- PGY-1 includes an introductory ultrasound course and a dedicated ultrasound block, and residents must complete a scholarly project.
- Interviews are held jointly for all five UBC sites by online video.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
9 teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital (VGH)
- British Columbia Children's Hospital (BCCH)
- Royal Columbian Hospital (RCH)
Show all 9Show fewer
- Kelowna General Hospital (KGH)
- Paul's Hospital (SPH)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH)
- Victoria General Hospital (VicGH)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (RJH)
- University Hospital of Northern British Columbia (UHNBC)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Highlights
- Training at VGH, the province's quaternary referral centre, which sees transplant, spinal cord injury and burns cases.
- High-fidelity in-situ simulations are held weekly in the trauma bay with nurses and allied staff.
- A block-length research design course (NERD) is held in Vancouver for residents from all sites.
By year
- PGY-1
- dedicated ultrasound block
- PGY-2
- NERD (Novel Education in Research Design)block-length
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 3 and 4 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Vancouver General Hospital (VGH) (Vancouver)
- British Columbia Children's Hospital (BCCH) (Vancouver)
- Royal Columbian Hospital (RCH)
- Kelowna General Hospital (KGH) (Kelowna)
- Paul's Hospital (SPH) (Vancouver)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH)
- Victoria General Hospital (VicGH) (Victoria)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (RJH) (Victoria)
- University Hospital of Northern British Columbia (UHNBC) (Prince George)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Vancouver General Hospital (VGH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
British Columbia Children's Hospital (BCCH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
Royal Columbian Hospital (RCH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Show facts for 6 more sitesShow fewer
Kelowna General Hospital (KGH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,707
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,090
Paul's Hospital (SPH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 11,911
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,849
Victoria General Hospital (VicGH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,131
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,108
Royal Jubilee Hospital (RJH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 14,532
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,973
University Hospital of Northern British Columbia (UHNBC)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,520
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,127
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Mira Pandya
Program Manager
Program director
Dr. Tina Yokota
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Dr. Xin Mei Liu
Site Program Director, Vancouver Site
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage