Vancouver - Anesthesiology
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
- 16 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Anesthesiology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35512
Summary
- This is a five-year anesthesiology residency in UBC's province-wide program, with a metropolitan Vancouver clinical home.
- PGY-1 is a rotating internship at St. Paul's, Royal Columbian, or the Victoria hospitals, and PGY-2 is an anesthesia immersion year.
- Residents must complete a 4-week block in Victoria and another outside the Lower Mainland, with travel and accommodation supported.
- All residents are expected to complete scholarly work and present at UBC Anesthesiology Research Day.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
16 teaching sites
- St. Paul’s Hospital
- Vancouver General Hospital
- Royal Columbian Hospital
Show all 16Show fewer
- Royal Jubilee Hospital
- Victoria General Hospital
- BC Women’s Hospital + Health Centre
- Lions Gate Hospital
- Richmond Hospital
- Surrey Memorial Hospital
- BC Children’s Hospital
- Kelowna General Hospital
- Royal Inland Hospital
- University Hospital of Northern British Columbia
- Penticton Regional Hospital
- Nanaimo Regional General Hospital
- East Kootenay Regional Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Call
- In-house call
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Roughly 250 faculty members support resident education across British Columbia.
- Up to six blocks of training may be completed outside the program, including international electives.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 2, 3 and 4 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- St. Paul’s Hospital (Vancouver)
- Vancouver General Hospital (Vancouver)
- Royal Columbian Hospital (New Westminster)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (Victoria · rural or distributed site)
- Victoria General Hospital (Victoria · rural or distributed site)
- BC Women’s Hospital + Health Centre (Vancouver)
- Lions Gate Hospital (North Vancouver)
- Richmond Hospital (Richmond)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (Surrey)
- BC Children’s Hospital (Vancouver)
- Kelowna General Hospital (Kelowna · rural or distributed site)
- Royal Inland Hospital (Kamloops · rural or distributed site)
- University Hospital of Northern British Columbia (Prince George · rural or distributed site)
- Penticton Regional Hospital (Penticton · rural or distributed site)
- Nanaimo Regional General Hospital (Nanaimo · rural or distributed site)
- East Kootenay Regional Hospital (Cranbrook · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
St. Paul’s Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Vancouver General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
Royal Columbian Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Show facts for 13 more sitesShow fewer
Royal Jubilee Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 14,532
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,973
Victoria General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,131
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,108
BC Women’s Hospital + Health Centre
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 5,033
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,348
Lions Gate Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 10,660
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,762
Richmond Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 6,446
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,680
Surrey Memorial Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 11,911
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,849
BC Children’s Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
Kelowna General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,707
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,090
Royal Inland Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 10,812
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,914
University Hospital of Northern British Columbia
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,520
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,127
Penticton Regional Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 3,482
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 837
Nanaimo Regional General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 9,004
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,040
East Kootenay Regional Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,520
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,068
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Christopher Nixon-Giles
Associate Program Director
Dr. Zoe Brown
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Vancouver, British Columbia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- 5.3 °C
- July average
- 19.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 36.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 662,248 people
- Official languages
- English only 84.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 9.3% · neither 5.8%
- Immigrants
- 42.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.3% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.2% · public transit 22.9% · walking or cycling 18.4% · other 2.6%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Vancouver, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.062
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $64,351 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.5%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Moderate
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage