Toronto - Obstetrics and Gynecology
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioIMG stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- IMG
- Obstetrics and Gynecology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36134
Summary
- This is a 5-year Obstetrics and Gynaecology residency at the University of Toronto, training at tertiary and community hospitals across the Greater Toronto Area.
- Residents are assigned a base hospital in PGY1 and complete a longitudinal ambulatory clinic rotation two half-days per month.
- A scholarly project is required for completion, with up to 3 blocks of focused project time.
- IMG applicants must fulfil an Ontario return-of-service commitment immediately after training.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
11 teaching sites
- Mount Sinai Hospital
- St. Michael's Hospital
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Show all 11Show fewer
- North York General Hospital
- Hospital for Sick Children
- Princess Margaret Hospital (PMH)/ University Health Network (UHN)
- St. Joseph's Health Centre
- Trillium Health Partners - Credit Valley Hospital
- Michael Garron Hospital
- Women’s College Hospital
- Hennick Humber Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- Global health collaboration with Moi University in Kenya.
- Robotic Surgery bootcamp within a structured simulation-based surgical skills curriculum.
- Up to 13 blocks for personalized training, including up to three rotations outside Ontario.
By year
- PGY-2
- Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU)two weeks
- scholarly projecttwo weeks
Other rotations
- Transition to Residency (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 1 block · various downtown sites)
- Obstetrics and Gynaecology at a major teaching hospital site (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 1 block · MSH, SHSC, SMH)
- Obstetrics and Gynaecology at a community hospital site (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 1 block · NYGH, MGH, THP-CV, SJHC)
- Emergency Medicine (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · MGH, SHSC, UHN, SMH)
- General Surgery (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · MGH, MSH)
- Gynaecologic Oncology (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · UHN-PMH, SHSC)
- Intensive Care Unit (Medical Surgical) (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · MSH, SHSC, SMH)
- Internal Medicine (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block Clinical Teaching Unit · MSH, SHSC, SMH)
- Obstetrics and Gynaecology at a community hospital site (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · NYGH, MGH, THP-CV, SJHC)
- Ultrasound (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · MSH/SJHC/TNI, SMH)
- Longitudinal Ambulatory Rotation (LAR) (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 2 half-days per month from Sept to June · MGH, MSH, NYGH, SHSC, SJHC, SMH, WCH)
- Obstetrics and Gynaecology at a major teaching-hospital site (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 3 blocks · MSH, SHSC, SMH)
- Ambulatory Internal Medicine (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · WCH)
- Ambulatory Obstetrics and Gynaecology (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · MSH, SHSC, SMH)
- Family Planning (Foundations of Discipline (FOD) · 1 block · WCH and various clinic sites)
- General Obstetrics and Gynaecology (Core of Discipline (COD) · 4 blocks · MGH, MSH, NYGH, SHSC, SJHC, SMH, THP-CV)
- Chief Residency (Core of Discipline (COD) · 6 blocks total; some may occur in TTP · MGH, MSH, NYGH, SHSC, SMH, THP-CV)
- Gynaecologic Oncology (Core of Discipline (COD) · 4 blocks · SHSC, UHN-PMH, THP-CV)
- Gynaecologic Reproductive Endocrinology, Infertility and Menopause (Core of Discipline (COD) · 2 blocks · MSH)
- Paediatric and Adolescent Gynaecology (Core of Discipline (COD) · 1 block · HSC)
- Maternal-Fetal Medicine (Core of Discipline (COD) · 3 blocks · MSH, SHSC)
- Urogynaecology (Core of Discipline (COD) · 3 blocks · MSH, SHSC)
- Scholarly Project (Core of Discipline (COD) · up to 3 blocks · site varies)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 21 and 22 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Thu 5 Nov 20265:30–6:30 pm EST
Info session · VirtualCheck with the program
Link for University of Toronto, Thu 5 Nov 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Mount Sinai Hospital (Toronto)
- St. Michael's Hospital (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Toronto)
- North York General Hospital (Toronto)
- Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
- Princess Margaret Hospital (PMH)/ University Health Network (UHN) (Toronto)
- St. Joseph's Health Centre (Toronto)
- Trillium Health Partners - Credit Valley Hospital
- Michael Garron Hospital (Toronto)
- Women’s College Hospital (Toronto)
- Hennick Humber Hospital (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Shared by Farhana Hossain · Residency Program Officer and Simone Rodrigue · Residency Program Coordinator
Program directors
Dr. Julia Kfouri
Residency Program Director
Dr. Andrea Page
Associate Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage