Toronto - Diagnostic Radiology
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCMG stream
- 8 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Diagnostic Radiology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35851
Summary
- The University of Toronto Diagnostic Radiology program is a 5-year residency operating across eight core hospitals and affiliated sites in the Greater Toronto Area.
- PGY1 combines clinical rotations such as Emergency Medicine, Internal Medicine, Obstetrics & Gynecology and Surgery with radiology rotations.
- All residents complete a research project, presented in PGY4 or PGY5, with academic days in PGY5 to work on it.
- Interviews are held virtually via Zoom.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
9 teaching sites
- Mount Sinai Hospital
- Saint Michael’s Hospital
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Show all 9Show fewer
- The Hospital for Sick Children
- The Princess Margaret Hospital
- Toronto General Hospital
- Toronto Western Hospital
- Women’s College Hospital
- Ontario Forensics Services & Coroner’s Complex
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Dedicated Forensic Radiology rotation at the Forensic Services & Coroner’s Complex.
- Describes itself as the largest Diagnostic Radiology residency program in Canada.
- Procedural experience at a Biopsy Centre and on community rotations, including prostate and liver biopsies.
By year
- PGY-1
- Emergency Medicine
- Internal Medicine
- Obstetrics & Gynecology
- Surgery
- Computed Tomography
- Chest Imaging
Other rotations
- Body MRI
- Forensic Radiology (Forensic Services & Coroner’s Complex)
- Head & Neck
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 26 and 27 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Mount Sinai Hospital (Toronto)
- Saint Michael’s Hospital (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Toronto)
- The Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
- The Princess Margaret Hospital (Toronto)
- Toronto General Hospital (Toronto)
- Toronto Western Hospital (Toronto)
- Women’s College Hospital (Toronto)
- Ontario Forensics Services & Coroner’s Complex (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Charles Yan
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage