Toronto - Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioIMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- IMG
- Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36353
Summary
- The University of Toronto Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology residency program lasts 5 years.
- Core residents are based at one of four major teaching hospitals and rotate through all four, with community hospitals also used.
- Residents get a half day per week of protected research time and may take dedicated research electives of 3 to 12 months.
- Matched IMGs must complete a return-of-service commitment in Ontario.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
14 teaching sites
- The Hospital for Sick Children
- Mount Sinai Hospital
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Show all 14Show fewer
- St. Michael's Hospital
- St. Joseph's Health Centre
- Toronto General Hospital
- Toronto Western Hospital
- Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
- Trillium Health Partners
- Michael Garron Hospital
- North York General Hospital
- Scarborough Health Network
- Lakeridge Health Network
- Provincial Forensic Pathology Unit (Ontario Forensic Pathology Service)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Training in fully digital pathology practice environments.
- Optional dedicated research electives lasting 3 to 12 months.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- “All IMG candidates accepted to residency training programs will be required to undergo an Assessment Verification Period (AVP).”
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- The Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
- Mount Sinai Hospital (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Toronto)
- St. Michael's Hospital (Toronto)
- St. Joseph's Health Centre (Toronto)
- Toronto General Hospital (Toronto)
- Toronto Western Hospital (Toronto)
- Princess Margaret Cancer Centre (Toronto)
- Trillium Health Partners
- Michael Garron Hospital (Toronto)
- North York General Hospital (Toronto)
- Scarborough Health Network (Toronto)
- Lakeridge Health Network
- Provincial Forensic Pathology Unit (Ontario Forensic Pathology Service) (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Carlo Hojilla
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Toronto, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.5 °C
- July average
- 22.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 1.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 2,794,356 people
- Official languages
- English only 86.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.5% · neither 4.5%
- Immigrants
- 46.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 61.0% · public transit 26.2% · walking or cycling 9.6% · other 3.2%
- Median household income
- $84,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Toronto, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.000
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.0%
- Basic cost of living
- $62,880 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage