Thunder Bay - Orthopedic Surgery
NOSM UniversityThunder Bay, OntarioIMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- IMG
- Orthopedic Surgery
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35699
Summary
- This is a 5-year orthopedic surgery residency based in Thunder Bay, with rotations at other Northern Ontario learning centres.
- Junior trauma, junior and senior pediatrics, and senior oncology rotations take place at the University of Toronto.
- Residents must complete at least two research projects, with a dedicated four-week research block in PGY-3.
- Residents need their own vehicle, and IMG-stream residents must complete a return-of-service commitment in Ontario.
Training
- Setting
- Regional community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Sunnybrook
- Sick Kids
- University of Toronto
Show all 4Show fewer
- Health Sciences North
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Northern
- Procedural emphasis
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Getting around
- A car is required
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Residents have 24-hour in-hospital access to full-body cadavers for surgical skills training.
- Ten-block Transition to Practice stage in PGY-5.
By year
- PGY-1
- Emergency Medicine / Research2 blocks
- Intensive Care Unit (ICU)2 blocks
- Vascular1 block
- Internal Medicine1 block
- PGY-2
- Orthopedic Surgery – Junior Upper Extremity3 blocks
- Orthopedic Surgery – Junior Spine3 blocks
- Orthopedic Surgery – Junior Trauma2 blocks
- Orthopedic Surgery – Junior Foot and Ankle2 blocks
- Orthopedic Surgery – Junior Pediatrics2 blocks
- PGY-3
- Orthopedic Surgery – Senior Arthroplasty3 blocks
- Orthopedic Surgery – Senior Trauma3 blocks
- Orthopedic Surgery – Sports3 blocks
- Orthopedic Surgery – Electives3 blocks
- Research1 block
- PGY-4
- Orthopedic Surgery – Senior Pediatrics3 blocks
- Orthopedic Surgery – Oncology3 blocks
- Orthopedic Surgery – Senior Upper Extremity2 blocks
- Orthopedic Surgery – Senior Foot and Ankle2 blocks
- Orthopedic Surgery – Selectives2 blocks
- PGY-5
- Orthopedic Surgery – Transition to Practice10 blocks
- Orthopedic Surgery – Senior Spine3 blocks
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 30 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Sunnybrook (Toronto)
- Sick Kids (Toronto)
- University of Toronto (Toronto)
- Health Sciences North (Sudbury · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Travis Marion
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Loading amenities…
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −13.4 °C
- July average
- 18.0 °C
- Snowfall
- not reported
- Days below −20 °C
- 42.2 days a year
People
- Population
- 108,843 people
- Official languages
- English only 91.5% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.0% · neither 0.5%
- Immigrants
- 8.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 14.1% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 88.5% · public transit 3.8% · walking or cycling 5.9% · other 1.8%
- Median household income
- $77,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Thunder Bay, a medium population centre (30,000 to 99,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.295
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,744 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 4.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Undetermined
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage