Thunder Bay - Internal Medicine
NOSM UniversityThunder Bay, OntarioIMG streamNew for 2027
- 1 position
- 4 years
- IMG
- Internal Medicine
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 37121
Summary
- NOSM's four-year Internal Medicine residency has two main training sites, Sudbury and Thunder Bay, and residents are home-based at the site they match to.
- At least 2 blocks of community GIM must be done in NOSM communities outside Sudbury and Thunder Bay.
- All residents must complete a research or scholarly project and present it at Resident Research Day in PGY3.
- Residents may choose to continue into a fourth year of NOSM General Internal Medicine.
Training
- Setting
- Regional community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
1 teaching site
- Health Sciences North
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Northern
- Early independence
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Call
- In-house call · frequency “1 in 4 to 1 in 5”
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Highlights
- Required community GIM blocks in NOSM communities outside Sudbury and Thunder Bay.
- NOSM provides housing for rotations away from the resident's home base.
- Low learner-to-preceptor ratios, often working one-on-one with the preceptor.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- MCTU (Medical Clinical Teaching Unit) (Transition to Discipline (Y1 - Blocks 1-3) & Foundations (Y1 – Blocks 4-13) · 4)
- Cardiology (Transition to Discipline (Y1 - Blocks 1-3) & Foundations (Y1 – Blocks 4-13) · 2)
- Nephrology (Transition to Discipline (Y1 - Blocks 1-3) & Foundations (Y1 – Blocks 4-13) · 1)
- Subspecialty (Transition to Discipline (Y1 - Blocks 1-3) & Foundations (Y1 – Blocks 4-13) · 3)
- Foundational ICU (Transition to Discipline (Y1 - Blocks 1-3) & Foundations (Y1 – Blocks 4-13) · 1)
- Emergency Medicine (Transition to Discipline (Y1 - Blocks 1-3) & Foundations (Y1 – Blocks 4-13) · 1)
- Geriatrics (Transition to Discipline (Y1 - Blocks 1-3) & Foundations (Y1 – Blocks 4-13) · 1)
- Electives/Selectives (Core 1 (Y2 – Blocks 1-13) · 6 blocks)
- MCTU (Core 1 (Y2 – Blocks 1-13) · 4)
- Community GIM (Core 1 (Y2 – Blocks 1-13) · 1)
- Electives/Selectives (Core 2 (Y3 – Blocks 1-13) · 6 blocks)
- MCTU (Core 2 (Y3 – Blocks 1-13) · 4)
- Ambulatory GIM (Core 2 (Y3 – Blocks 1-13) · 1)
- Community GIM (2nd rotation) (Core 1 or Core 2 · 1)
- Nephrology (2nd rotation) (Core 1 or Core 2 · 1)
- Medical Oncology (Core 1 or Core 2 · 1)
- Respirology (Core 1 or Core 2 · 1)
- Subspecialty (Core 1 or Core 2 · 3)
- Electives (Core 1 or Core 2 · 5)
- Endocrinology
- Gastroenterology
- Hematology
- Infectious Disease
- Neurology
- Rheumatology
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 27, 28 and 30 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Tue 17 Nov 20267:00 pm ET
Info session · Virtual
Link for NOSM University, Tue 17 Nov 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Health Sciences North (Sudbury)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 7 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 3 positions open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2020 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2023 | 3 positions open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2024 | 4 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2026 | 3 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Florence Morriello
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Thunder Bay, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −13.4 °C
- July average
- 18.0 °C
- Snowfall
- not reported
- Days below −20 °C
- 42.2 days a year
People
- Population
- 108,843 people
- Official languages
- English only 91.5% · French only 0.1% · English and French 8.0% · neither 0.5%
- Immigrants
- 8.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 14.1% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 88.5% · public transit 3.8% · walking or cycling 5.9% · other 1.8%
- Median household income
- $77,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Thunder Bay, a medium population centre (30,000 to 99,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.295
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,744 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 4.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage