Sherbrooke - Dermatology
Université de SherbrookeSherbrooke, QuebecRegular stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Dermatology
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited (joint arrangement between institutions)
- 35774
Summary
- This is a 5-year dermatology residency in which R1-R2 are completed at Université de Sherbrooke and R3-R5 at McGill University under an inter-university agreement.
- Most rotations take place at the CHUS (Hôpital Fleurimont and Hôtel-Dieu) in Sherbrooke, with rotations in Chicoutimi, Longueuil and Ste-Justine in Montréal.
- Interviews are virtual, on January 26, 2027.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
3 teaching sites
- Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne
- Santé Québec Saguenay Lac-Saint-Jean-universitaire Chicoutimi
- Hôpital Ste-Justine
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Residents train R1-R2 in Sherbrooke and must continue R3-R5 in McGill University's dermatology program.
By year
- PGY-1
- Médecine interne1
- Pédiatrie1
- Urgence1
- Infectiologie1
- Rhumatologie1
- ORL1
- Immuno-allergologie1
- Néphrologie greffe rénale1
- Dermato-pathologie1
- Dermatologie Sherbrooke3
- Dermatologie Chicoutimi1
- PGY-2
- Possibilité de stage à option1 (Il y a alors un mois de moins à Sherbrooke)
- Dermatologie Sherbrooke11
- Dermato-pédiatrie Hôpital Ste-Justine Mtl1
- Dermatologie Chicoutimi ou Charles-Lemoyne1
- Chirurgie de Mohs et dermatologie pédiatriqueExposition longitudinale
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 26 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne (Longueuil)
- Santé Québec Saguenay Lac-Saint-Jean-universitaire Chicoutimi (Chicoutimi)
- Hôpital Ste-Justine (Montréal)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,073 · 2026–2027: 30,629
- Licensed beds
- physical health 571
Hôpital Ste-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Programme de dermatologie
Program director
Dr(e) Andréanne Waddell
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Sherbrooke, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.5 °C
- July average
- 19.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 290.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 23.1 days a year
People
- Population
- 172,950 people
- Official languages
- English only 1.7% · French only 51.6% · English and French 46.1% · neither 0.7%
- Immigrants
- 8.8% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 1.7% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 87.3% · public transit 4.9% · walking or cycling 6.4% · other 1.4%
- Median household income
- $62,400 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Sherbrooke, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.156
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.7%
- Basic cost of living
- $47,414 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 4.0%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage