Saskatoon - Orthopedic Surgery
University of SaskatchewanSaskatoon, SaskatchewanCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Orthopedic Surgery
- 51–200
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35745
Summary
- This is a 5-year orthopedic surgery residency based at Royal University Hospital and Saskatoon City Hospital in Saskatoon.
- In fourth year, residents work with community surgeons in centres such as Regina, Prince Albert, Moose Jaw and Lloydminster.
- The program uses a night float call system, and research is mandatory from R1 to R4, with a protected half-day each week.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
12 teaching sites
- Royal University Hospital
- Saskatoon City Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital
Show all 12Show fewer
- Jim Pattison Children's Hospital
- Saskatoon Prairieview Surgical Centre
- Saskatoon Surgicentre
- Regina Hospitals
- Prince Albert Hospital
- Lloydminster Hospital
- Moose Jaw Hospital
- Northern Medical Services
- Offices of the community based faculty
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Early independence
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Call
- In-house call · night float
- Highlights
- Annual combined orthopedic resident research day with the University of Manitoba, alternating hosts.
- Second-year residents take home tactile knee models for arthroscopic practice.
- Residents are often first assist for all elective ORs starting in PGY-1.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Hip and Knee Reconstruction (Surgical Foundations)
- Orthopedic Trauma (Surgical Foundations)
- Spine (Surgical Foundations)
- Pediatric Orthopedics (Surgical Foundations)
- Sports (Surgical Foundations)
- Night Float (Surgical Foundations)
- ICU (Surgical Foundations · 1 block)
- Trauma Surgery (Surgical Foundations · 1 block)
- Plastic Surgery (Surgical Foundations · 1 block)
- Emergency Medicine (Surgical Foundations · 1 block)
- Internal Medicine (Surgical Foundations · 1 block)
- Sports (Core · Royal University Hospital and Saskatoon City Hospital)
- Upper Extremity (Core · Royal University Hospital and Saskatoon City Hospital)
- Foot and Ankle (Core · Royal University Hospital and Saskatoon City Hospital)
- Hip & Knee Reconstruction/Orthopedic Tumour Surgery (Core · Royal University Hospital and Saskatoon City Hospital)
- Spine Surgery (Core · Royal University Hospital and Saskatoon City Hospital)
- Pediatric Orthopedics (Core · Royal University Hospital and Saskatoon City Hospital)
- Trauma Orthopedics (Core · Royal University Hospital and Saskatoon City Hospital)
- community practice (Core · Regina, Prince Albert, Moose Jaw and Lloydminster)
- elective time for out-of-province rotations (Core · 1-2 blocks)
- knowledge consolidation (Core · 1 block)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 1 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $68,329 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,518 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,700 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,858 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,968 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Frequency of call
- 1:4 in-house (if in excess of 1:4 paid $196/period from 1700-0800 weekdays and $249 from 0800-0800 weekends)*;1:3 out-of-house
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Teaching sites
- Royal University Hospital (Saskatoon)
- Saskatoon City Hospital (Saskatoon)
- St. Paul's Hospital (Saskatoon)
- Jim Pattison Children's Hospital (Saskatoon)
- Saskatoon Prairieview Surgical Centre (Saskatoon)
- Saskatoon Surgicentre (Saskatoon)
- Regina Hospitals (Regina · rural or distributed site)
- Prince Albert Hospital (Prince Albert · rural or distributed site)
- Lloydminster Hospital (Lloydminster · rural or distributed site)
- Moose Jaw Hospital (Moose Jaw · rural or distributed site)
- Northern Medical Services (rural or distributed site)
- Offices of the community based faculty
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Andrew Urmson
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Loading amenities…
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −15.4 °C
- July average
- 18.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 91.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 49.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 266,141 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.1% · French only 0.0% · English and French 6.5% · neither 1.4%
- Immigrants
- 20.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 11.5% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 89.2% · public transit 3.4% · walking or cycling 5.4% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $85,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Saskatoon, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.216
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.1%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,881 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage