Saint John - Family Medicine
Dalhousie UniversitySaint John, New BrunswickCMG stream
- 6 positions
- 2 years
- CMG
- Family Medicine
- 401–600
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35886
Summary
- This is a two-year Dalhousie family medicine program based in Saint John, centred on the Saint John Regional Hospital and community family practices.
- Residents follow their own patient panel through a half-day back extended over both years.
- PGY2 includes a 12-week community family medicine rotation living in a small Maritime community, and a scholarly project with protected time is required.
Training
- Setting
- Regional community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural / remote
- Sites
3 teaching sites
- Saint John Regional Hospital
- Saint Joseph’s Hopsital
- St. Joseph’s Community Health Centre
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation (12 weeks)
- Focus areas
- Rural / remote
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Enhanced skills
- Emergency Medicine
- Palliative Care
- Care of the Elderly
- Other
- Getting around
- A car is required
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Family Medicine is the largest department at Saint John Regional Hospital, with over 200 beds for family physicians' patients.
- Longitudinal psychiatry experience integrated into a 20-week PGY2 core family medicine rotation.
By year
- PGY-1
- Core Family Medicine8 weeks
- Internal Medicine8 weeks
- Pediatrics8 weeks
- Intro to Family Medicine*4 weeks
- General Surgery4 weeks
- Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Obstetrics and Gynecology4 weeks
- Palliative Care4 Weeks
- Selective4 weeks
- Orthopaedic Surgery4 weeks
- Vacation4 weeks
- PGY-2
- Core Family Medicine/Psychiatry20 weeks
- Community Family Medicine12 weeks
- Electives8 weeks
- Hospitalist4 weeks
- Geriatrics4 weeks
- Prenatal Care & Gynecological Health4 weeks
- Vacation4 weeks
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 401–600
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
Thu 5 Nov 20267:00–9:00 pm AST
Info session · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Link for Dalhousie University, Thu 5 Nov 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Wed 2 Dec 20267:00–9:00 pm AST
Info session · Virtual · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Link for Dalhousie University, Wed 2 Dec 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Sat 9 Jan 202712:00–2:00 pm AST
Social · Listed under interviews on CaRMS
Link for Dalhousie University, Sat 9 Jan 2027 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Saint John Regional Hospital (Saint John)
- Saint Joseph’s Hopsital (Saint John)
- St. Joseph’s Community Health Centre (Saint John)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Saint John Regional Hospital
- Inpatient beds
- 445
Saint Joseph’s Hopsital
- Inpatient beds
- 103
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 4 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 3 positions open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 4 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2026 | 4 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program Information
Program director
Dr. Sasha Sealy
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Saint John Site
Dr. Doug Hall
Site Director
Lisa Russell
Site Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Saint John, New Brunswick
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.9 °C
- July average
- 17.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 214.8 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 13.1 days a year
People
- Population
- 69,895 people
- Official languages
- English only 85.6% · French only 0.2% · English and French 13.6% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 8.1% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.6% · public transit 4.8% · walking or cycling 7.4% · other 2.3%
- Median household income
- $62,800 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Saint John, a medium population centre (30,000 to 99,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.278
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.1%
- Basic cost of living
- $51,631 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.6%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage