Regina - Obstetrics and Gynecology
University of SaskatchewanRegina, SaskatchewanCMG stream
From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Obstetrics and Gynecology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 29338
Summary
The University of Saskatchewan Obstetrics and Gynecology Residency Program offers a comprehensive 5-year training experience across multiple Saskatchewan hospitals. The program focuses on producing well-rounded, socially conscious physicians who are exceptional clinicians, teachers, and researchers in obstetrics and gynecology.
Training
- Research
- Residents are required to complete a research project, with protected research time, faculty support, conference travel funding, and annual presentation opportunities.
- Training setting
- A distributed program across multiple urban and rural hospitals in Saskatchewan, including sites in Saskatoon, Regina, North Battleford, Prince Albert, and Moose Jaw, with over 10,000 annual deliveries.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with progressive independence, emphasizing one-on-one training, early hands-on experience, and comprehensive skill development across multiple clinical domains.
- Setting types
- Tertiary care centers
- Urban hospitals
- Rural hospitals
- Provincial referral centers
- Focus areas
- Women's Health Care
- Surgical Skills
- Reproductive Medicine
- Gynecologic Oncology
- Maternal-Fetal Medicine
- Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility
- Patient populations
- Urban populations
- Rural populations
- Obstetric patients
- Gynecological patients
- High-risk pregnancy patients
- Reproductive health patients
- Highlights
- Competence By Design (CBD) Curriculum
- Surgical Foundations Program
- Mandatory Research Project
- Simulation Lab Training
- Annual Resident Retreat
- Protected Academic Time
- Distributed Learning Opportunities
- Monthly Journal Club
- Career Development Seminars
- Strengths
- Extensive surgical skills training
- Comprehensive provincial training experience
- Strong research support
- Diverse clinical exposure
- Supportive learning environment
- Advanced minimally invasive surgery (MIS) training
- Enhanced skills
- Minimally Invasive Surgery
- Urogynecology
- Oncology
- Reproductive Endocrinology
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- What the program looks at
- Casper Test
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Personal Letter
- Reference Letters
- Elective Performance
- Interview Performance
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2026 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $68,329 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,518 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,700 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,858 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,968 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Frequency of call
- 1:4 in-house (if in excess of 1:4 paid $196/period from 1700-0800 weekdays and $249 from 0800-0800 weekends)*;1:3 out-of-house
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Teaching sites
- Jim Pattison Children's Hospital
- Royal University Hospital
- Saskatoon City Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital
- Regina General Hospital
- Pasqua Hospital
- Battlefords Union Hospital
- Prince Albert Parkland Health Region
- Moose Jaw Union Hospital
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.
The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).
Location
Regina, Saskatchewan
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −14.7 °C
- July average
- 18.6 °C
- Snowfall
- 104.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 44.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 226,404 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.6% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.1% · neither 1.3%
- Immigrants
- 20.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 10.4% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 90.2% · public transit 3.6% · walking or cycling 4.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $88,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Regina, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.228
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,765 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.4%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Undetermined
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage