Ottawa - Emergency Medicine
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioIMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- IMG
- Emergency Medicine
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36521
Summary
- This is a 5-year Royal College Emergency Medicine residency at the University of Ottawa.
- Training takes place at The Ottawa Hospital General and Civic Campuses and CHEO, with 33 blocks of adult emergency medicine.
- Residents must complete a research or educational project, and matched IMGs must complete a Pre-Residency Program and an Ontario return-of-service commitment.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
3 teaching sites
- Ottawa Hospital General Campus
- The Ottawa Hospital Civic Campus
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Highlights
- Senior residents in good standing may moonlight in local critical care units and community emergency departments.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Adult Emergency Medicine (33 blocks)
- Paediatric Emergency Medicine (6 blocks)
- Prehospital and Transport Medicine (1 block)
- Internal Medicine (2 blocks)
- General Surgery (1 block)
- Orthopaedics (1 block)
- Anesthesia (2 blocks)
- Psychiatry (1 block)
- Obstetrics/Gynaecology (1 block)
- Neurology (Stroke/Consults) (1 block)
- Adult ICU (3 blocks)
- Cardiology / CCU (2 blocks)
- Elective Critical Care Experience (Emergency Medicine, Paediatrics ICU, Adult ICU) (1 block)
- Trauma (1 block)
- Toxicology (1 block)
- Electives (3 blocks)
- area of concentrated expertise (ACE) (six months)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 29 Jan 2027
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Ottawa Hospital General Campus (Ottawa)
- The Ottawa Hospital Civic Campus (Ottawa)
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) (Ottawa)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Jeffrey Landreville
RCPSC EM Program Director
Dr. Michael Ho
RCPSC EM Associate Program Director
Dr. Kathleen O'Connell
RCPSC EM Assosicate Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage