Ottawa - Bilingual - General Surgery
University of OttawaOttawa, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- General Surgery
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36544
Summary
- This is a five-year General Surgery residency at the University of Ottawa, based at The Ottawa Hospital's three campuses.
- Applicants to this stream must be comfortable in French and English, and residents can get added exposure to surgery practised in French at the Montfort Hospital.
- The program offers a Surgical Scientist Program and community surgery experience at partnering hospitals.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus
- Ottawa Hospital - General Campus
- Ottawa Hospital - Riverside Campus
Show all 7Show fewer
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
- The Montfort Hospital
- Pembroke Regional Hospital (Community)
- Hawkesbury and District General Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Francophone minority communities
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Training language
- English and French
- Highlights
- Bilingual stream offering French-language surgical training at the Montfort Hospital, from early through senior residency.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Emergency Medicine (Early residency · Montfort Hospital)
- Gastroenterology (Early residency · Montfort Hospital)
- General Surgery (Early residency · Montfort Hospital)
- General Surgery (senior residency · Montfort)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 5 Feb 2027
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus (Ottawa)
- Ottawa Hospital - General Campus (Ottawa)
- Ottawa Hospital - Riverside Campus (Ottawa)
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (Ottawa)
- The Montfort Hospital (Ottawa)
- Pembroke Regional Hospital (Community) (Pembroke · rural or distributed site)
- Hawkesbury and District General Hospital (Hawkesbury · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Kimberly Bertens
Faculty profile of Dr. Kimberly Bertens(opens in a new tab)
In addition Dr. Bertens has completed a Masters of Public Health with a focus in quantitative methods at the Harvard School of Public Health. Her research interests include the interface between sociodemographic factors and access to surgical care.
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage