Northern Ontario - General Surgery
NOSM UniversityNorthern Ontario, OntarioIMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- IMG
- General Surgery
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35820
Summary
- NOSM University's five-year General Surgery program bases residents in Thunder Bay or Sudbury, with rotations across its distributed northern Ontario area.
- Required foundation rotations include trauma and paediatric surgery in Ottawa.
- Residents must complete and present at least two research projects, and an Ontario return-of-service commitment applies.
Training
- Setting
- Regional community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Northern
- Indigenous health
- Francophone minority communities
- Research
- Required · research project
- Getting around
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Academics delivered in three multi-day sessions per year instead of weekly academic half-days.
- Financial support for travel to core placements away from the home base.
By year
- PGY-1
- General Surgery3 Blocks
- PGY-5
- General Surgery6 Blocks
Other rotations
- General Surgery (Foundations (PGY1 & PGY2) · 5 Blocks)
- Emergency Medicine (Foundations (PGY1 & PGY2) · 1 Block)
- Medical Clinical Teaching Unit (MCTU) (Foundations (PGY1 & PGY2) · 1 Block)
- Endoscopy (Foundations (PGY1 & PGY2) · 2 Blocks)
- General Surgery Community (Foundations (PGY1 & PGY2) · 3 Blocks)
- Intensive Care Unit (ICU) (Foundations (PGY1 & PGY2) · 2 Blocks)
- Trauma (Foundations (PGY1 & PGY2) · 1 Block · Ottawa)
- Paediatric Surgery (Foundations (PGY1 & PGY2) · 2 Blocks · Ottawa)
- General Surgery (includes Thoracic, Breast, Colorectal, ACS, HPB, Bariatric, TACS) (Core (PGY3 &PGY4) · 21 Blocks)
- Thoracic and Vascular Surgery (Core (PGY3 &PGY4) · 2 Blocks)
- Electives (Core (PGY3 &PGY4) · 4 Blocks)
- General Surgery (Alternative Site) (Core (PGY3 &PGY4) · 8 Blocks)
- General Surgery Community (Core (PGY3 &PGY4) · 3 Blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Required · this stream
- IMG requirements
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 7 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Info sessions
Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
Not stated on CaRMS page
Unfilled positions in past years
Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Andrew Smith
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Northern Ontario, Ontario
Loading amenities…