Skip to content
residency.fyi

North West (Meadow Lake) - Rural - Family Medicine

University of SaskatchewanNorth West (Meadow Lake), SaskatchewanCompetitive streamNew for 2027

CaRMS program description, 2027 match, last approved 8 Sep 2026

2027 match programs, from CaRMS as of 5 Oct 2026. Programs can still change until file review opens 26 November; we re-check every two weeks. Always confirm on CaRMS (opens in a new tab).

Positions (approx. quota)
2 positions
Length
2 years
Stream
Competitive
Discipline
Family Medicine
Applications per year
601+
Applicants offered interviews
26–50%
Accreditation
Accredited
CaRMS program ID
37161

Bands are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS. They describe past cycles, not your odds.

Summary

  • This is a 2-year rural Family Medicine program based in Meadow Lake, northern Saskatchewan, with 2 residents each year.
  • Training is a longitudinal residency covering primary care, walk-in, addictions, psychiatry, gender affirming care, internal medicine and prenatal care, with one-week hospitalist rotations.
  • Call is done through 12-hour emergency shifts plus obstetrical home call, and longer remote rotations in Île-à-la-Crosse are optional.

Training

Setting
  • Rural / remote
Sites

3 teaching sites

  • Meadow Lake
  • North Battleford
  • Île-à-la-Crosse

Distributed across a region

Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Northern
  • Indigenous health
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Call
In-house and home call
Enhanced skills
  • Obstetrical Surgical Skills
  • Anesthesia
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Travel is reimbursed
Highlights
  • Outreach prenatal and primary care clinics in several First Nations and remote communities around Meadow Lake.
  • Local ESS and FPA physicians use the hospital OR heavily, including endoscopy 2-3 days a week.
  • Visiting surgeons and a gynecologist run local OR cases, and residents have the opportunity to assist.

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Orientation (R1 and R2 · 1 week)
  • longitudinal residency (R1 and R2)
  • hospitalist rotations (R1 and R2 · One week)

Selection

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
Applications per year
601+
Applicants offered interviews
26–50%

Interviews

Dates (2027 match)
20, 21, 22 and 23 Jan 2027
Mode
Virtual

Programs can change interview dates. Confirm on carms.ca.

Pay

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Contract expired, may change.

Annual salary by PGY level, Saskatchewan
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$68,329 / year
PGY-2
$74,518 / year

One provincial scale for Saskatchewan, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Benefits

Benefits as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024; check the current agreement(opens in a new tab)

Annual vacation
4 weeks
CMPA dues paid
100%
Dental plan
100%
Educational leave
Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
Employee Assistance Program
Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
Extended health insurance
Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
Frequency of call
1:4 in-house (if in excess of 1:4 paid $196/period from 1700-0800 weekdays and $249 from 0800-0800 weekends)*;1:3 out-of-house
Life insurance
Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
Long-term disability insurance
Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
Maternity leave/ Paternity
In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
Meal allowance
n/a
On-Call Stipends
Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1 %
Provincial health insurance
Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
Sick leave
1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
Statutory and floating holidays
1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation

The union agreement’s cap for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. Check with the program.

RDoS agreement, 1 Jan 2023 to 31 Dec 2025. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed.

Teaching sites

  • Meadow Lake (Meadow Lake)
  • North Battleford (North Battleford)
  • Île-à-la-Crosse (Île-à-la-Crosse · rural or distributed site)

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.

Contacts

Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.

Program officeadministrators and coordinators

northwest.fm.pgme@usask.ca

Kristen Huebner · Program Administrator

Program director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites

  • Dr. Aimee Seguin

    North West (Meadow Lake) Site Coordinator

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Location

North West (Meadow Lake), Saskatchewan

Loading amenities…

About the city

Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.

Climate

Canadian Climate Normals, 1991–2020. Each value comes from the nearest weather station that reports it, not from the city itself.

January average
−16.8 °C Meadow Lake, 5.5 km away
July average
16.8 °C Meadow Lake, 5.5 km away
Snowfall
124.6 cm a year Meadow Lake, 5.5 km away
Days below −20 °C
60.6 days a year Meadow Lake, 5.5 km away

People

2021 Census. Figures are for the municipality of Meadow Lake, not the metropolitan area. Statistics Canada rounds counts, so small places are approximate.

Population
5,322 people down 0.4% from 2016
Official languages
English only 97.1% · French only not reported · English and French 2.6% · neither 0.2% Share of residents who can conduct a conversation in each. This is not the language spoken at home.
Immigrants
7.5% of residents arrived 2016–2021: 2.8% · non-permanent residents: 2.6%
Indigenous identity
48.9% of residents
How people commute
car, truck or van 87.2% · public transit not reported · walking or cycling 12.0% · other 0.7% Average commute: 12.8 minutes. Shares are of people who commute.The way Canadians commute was altered in 2021 by the pandemic, with lockdowns to slow the spread of COVID-19 and changes in how and where Canadians worked leading to 2.8 million fewer commuters, compared with five years earlier. Statistics Canada, The Daily, 30 Nov 2022(opens in a new tab)
Median household income
$86,000 before tax $76,500 after tax · income year 2020, in 2020 dollars

Rural and remote

This describes the place named by the program’s location label. Programs can train in several towns, so it is not every site.

Population centre
Meadow Lake, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people) 5,141 people in 2021
Remoteness index
0.441 0 is least remote, 1 is most remote. Statistics Canada calls this index experimental.
Student loan forgiveness
Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)

Housing, cost and work

Each figure names the area it covers. A missing line means the source publishes nothing for this area.

Basic cost of living
$51,502 a year Market Basket Measure 2025, Saskatchewan, population under 30,000, for two adults with two children. A modest, basic basket (the poverty line), not a resident’s budget. A size-class region is not the town itself.

Job outlook

Employment and Social Development Canada’s rating for the occupation in the economic region. It is not a count of jobs, and says nothing about CaRMS positions or your match.

Outlook, 2025–2027
Good The employment outlook will be Good for general practitioners and family physicians (NOC 31102) in the Prince Albert region for the 2025-2027 period.
Canada-wide, to 2033
Strong risk of Shortage ESDC’s projection for general practitioners and family physicians, 2024–2033. Recent conditions, 2021–2023: Strong signs of Shortage.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada. Adapted from Statistics Canada, 2021 Census Cartographic Boundary Files.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS), 2024 to 2033 projections).
  • Data Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020).
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence - Canada (Employment and Social Development Canada, 3-Year Employment Outlooks).
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Index of Remoteness (17-26-0001), 2021. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Source: Employment and Social Development Canada, Canada Student Loan Forgiveness (Canada.ca), page dated 2026-06-03.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 11-10-0066-01 Market Basket Measure (MBM) thresholds for the reference family by Market Basket Measure region, component and base year, 2025. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0011-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and population centres, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0002-01 Population and dwelling counts: Canada and census subdivisions (municipalities), 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0057-01 Household income statistics by household type: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0173-01 Mother tongue by knowledge of official languages: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0266-01 Indigenous identity by Registered or Treaty Indian status: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0307-01 Immigrant status and period of immigration by place of birth: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.
  • Adapted from Statistics Canada, Table 98-10-0458-01 Main mode of commuting by commuting duration, time leaving for work, age and gender: Canada, provinces and territories, census divisions and census subdivisions, 2021 Census. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on residency.fyi 6 Oct 2026.