Montreal - Psychiatry
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 15 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Psychiatry
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36479
Summary
- This is a 5-year psychiatry residency at Université de Montréal, training across multiple Montreal hospitals and institutes.
- Residents complete 3 required periods of regional rotations during residency.
- From R2, residents run a resident clinic one day per week for two years, and a scholarly project is mandatory.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
16 teaching sites
- Hôpital Notre-Dame (HND)
- Institut universitaire de gériatrie de Montréal (IUGM)
- CLSC des Faubourgs
Show all 16Show fewer
- Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Montréal (IUSMM)
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (HMR)
- Hôpital Santa-Cabrini
- Hôpital en santé mentale Albert-Prévost (HSMAP)
- Hôpital Sacré-Coeur (HSC)
- Hôpital Rivière-des-Prairies (HRDP)
- Hôpital Jean-Talon (HJT)
- Hôpital Fleury
- Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM)
- CHU Sainte-Justine
- Institut national de psychiatrie légale Philippe-Pinel (INPL-PP)
- Institut de cardiologie de Montréal (ICM)
- Plusieurs établissements en région périphérique et éloignée
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Training language
- French
- Highlights
- Residents receive 1165 hours of psychotherapy training and qualify for the psychotherapist title.
- Two-year longitudinal resident clinic, one day per week, during R2 and R3.
- Two years of immersive, experiential community activities focused on social determinants of mental health.
By year
- PGY-1
- psychiatrie générale3 périodes
- stages optionnels3 périodes
- neurologie (adulte ou pédiatrie)2 périodes
- médecine interne1 période
- médecine d'urgence (adulte ou pédiatrie)1 période
- compétence additionnelle en médecine des toxicomanies1 période
- urgence psychiatrique1 période
- stage de nuit (adulte ou pédiatrie)1 période
- PGY-2
- psychiatrie générale10 périodes
- stages optionnels en psychiatrie/recherche3 périodes
- PGY-3
- pédopsychiatrie5 à 6 périodes
- gérontopsychiatrie5 à 6 périodes
- psychiatrie légale2 à 3 périodes
- PGY-4
- réadaptation3 périodes
- consultation-liaison3 périodes
- psychiatrie des toxicomanies2 périodes
- soins de collaboration2 périodes
- troubles de neurodéveloppement (adulte ou pédo)1 période
- PGY-5
- stages de transition vers la pratique (au choix du résident)13 périodes
Other rotations
- stage en région (3 périodes)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 26 and 29 Jan 2027; 5 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Hôpital Notre-Dame (HND) (Montréal)
- Institut universitaire de gériatrie de Montréal (IUGM) (Montréal)
- CLSC des Faubourgs (Montréal)
- Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Montréal (IUSMM) (Montréal)
- Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (HMR) (Montréal)
- Hôpital Santa-Cabrini (Montréal)
- Hôpital en santé mentale Albert-Prévost (HSMAP) (Montréal)
- Hôpital Sacré-Coeur (HSC) (Montréal)
- Hôpital Rivière-des-Prairies (HRDP) (Montréal)
- Hôpital Jean-Talon (HJT) (Montréal)
- Hôpital Fleury (Montréal)
- Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM) (Montréal)
- CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
- Institut national de psychiatrie légale Philippe-Pinel (INPL-PP) (Montréal)
- Institut de cardiologie de Montréal (ICM) (Montréal)
- Plusieurs établissements en région périphérique et éloignée (rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Hôpital Notre-Dame (HND)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,709 · 2026–2027: 15,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 224 · psychiatry 38 · geriatrics 34
Institut universitaire de gériatrie de Montréal (IUGM)
- Licensed beds
- geriatrics 67
Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Montréal (IUSMM)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 2,256 · 2026–2027: 2,194
- Licensed beds
- physical health 20 · psychiatry 267
Show facts for 10 more sitesShow fewer
Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (HMR)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 26,902 · 2026–2027: 29,102
- Licensed beds
- physical health 507 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 26
Hôpital Santa-Cabrini
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 15,441 · 2026–2027: 15,611
- Licensed beds
- physical health 305 · geriatrics 18
Hôpital en santé mentale Albert-Prévost (HSMAP)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 1,373 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- psychiatry 89
Hôpital Sacré-Coeur (HSC)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 420 · geriatrics 20
Hôpital Jean-Talon (HJT)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 16,759 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 131 · psychiatry 30 · geriatrics 25
Hôpital Fleury
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 12,751 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 115 · geriatrics 10
Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
CHU Sainte-Justine
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Institut national de psychiatrie légale Philippe-Pinel (INPL-PP)
- Licensed beds
- psychiatry 295
Institut de cardiologie de Montréal (ICM)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 8,656 · 2026–2027: 8,991
- Licensed beds
- physical health 153
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
residence.programme.psychiatrie.cemtl@ssss.gouv.qc.ca
Andréane Rousseau · Technicienne en administration
Tania Ljilja
Adjointe à l'enseignement universitaire
Program director
Dr(e) Lison Gagné
Directrice du programme
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage