Montreal - Anesthesiology
McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
- 8 positions
- 5 years
- Regular
- Anesthesiology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 35969
Summary
- McGill's 5-year anesthesiology residency trains residents at university teaching hospitals in Montreal.
- Training begins with a 10-week simulation-based orientation program, and residents complete a mandatory three-month community hospital anesthesia rotation.
- A scholarly project is required, with a minimum of three periods provided to complete it.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
9 teaching sites
- Royal Victoria Hospital
- Montreal General Hospital
- Sir Mortimer B. Davis Jewish General Hospital
Show all 9Show fewer
- Montreal Children's Hospital
- Montreal Neurological Institute
- St. Mary's Hospital Center
- CISSS de l'Outaouais, Hôpital de Hull, Hôpital de Gatineau
- CISSS de la Montérégie-Ouest, Hôpital du Suroît, Valleyfield
- Hôpital Brome Missisquoi Perkins, Cowansville
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Training language
- English and French
- Highlights
- Junior orientation program in which senior residents teach PGY1s in the simulation centre, running since 2009.
- Dedicated elective experiences in perioperative prehabilitation and ERAS, described as the only such program in Canada.
- Optional one-week pediatric anesthesia experiences in Puvirnituq or Kuujjuaq serving Indigenous populations.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- junior orientation program (Transition to Discipline · 10-week · simulation centre)
- general anesthesia (Foundations)
- acute pain (Foundations)
- emergency (Foundations)
- critical care (Foundations)
- ENT (Foundations)
- obstetrics (Foundations)
- pediatrics (Core)
- neuro (Core)
- obstetrics (Core)
- cardiovascular (Core)
- vascular (Core)
- regional (Core)
- thoracics (Core)
- POCUS (Core)
- chronic pain (Core)
- cardiac (Core)
- respirology (Core)
- intensive care in adults (Core)
- cardiac (CCU) (Core)
- anesthesia rotation in a community hospital setting (three-month · CISSS de l'Outaouais (Hôpital de Hull or Hôpital de Gatineau), the CISSS de la Montérégie-Ouest, Hôpital du Suroît, Valleyfield, or Hôpital Brome Missisquoi Perkins, Cowansville)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 1, 2 and 3 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Teaching sites
- Royal Victoria Hospital (Montreal)
- Montreal General Hospital (Montreal)
- Sir Mortimer B. Davis Jewish General Hospital (Montreal)
- Montreal Children's Hospital (Montreal)
- Montreal Neurological Institute (Montreal)
- St. Mary's Hospital Center (Montreal)
- CISSS de l'Outaouais, Hôpital de Hull, Hôpital de Gatineau (Gatineau · rural or distributed site)
- CISSS de la Montérégie-Ouest, Hôpital du Suroît, Valleyfield (Valleyfield · rural or distributed site)
- Hôpital Brome Missisquoi Perkins, Cowansville (Cowansville · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Royal Victoria Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604
Montreal General Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
- Licensed beds
- physical health 236 · psychiatry 46
Sir Mortimer B. Davis Jewish General Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
- Licensed beds
- physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34
Show facts for 6 more sitesShow fewer
Montreal Children's Hospital
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552
Montreal Neurological Institute
- Licensed beds
- physical health 90
St. Mary's Hospital Center
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 13,990 · 2026–2027: 14,053
- Licensed beds
- physical health 224 · psychiatry 29 · geriatrics 24
CISSS de l'Outaouais, Hôpital de Hull, Hôpital de Gatineau
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 14,660 · 2026–2027: 14,537
- Licensed beds
- physical health 230
CISSS de la Montérégie-Ouest, Hôpital du Suroît, Valleyfield
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 16,707 · 2026–2027: 18,278
- Licensed beds
- physical health 182 · psychiatry 39 · geriatrics 16 · neonatology 4
Hôpital Brome Missisquoi Perkins, Cowansville
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 12,130 · 2026–2027: 12,352
- Licensed beds
- physical health 84
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Catherine Paquet
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.2 °C
- July average
- 21.7 °C
- Snowfall
- 216.6 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 12.0 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,762,949 people
- Official languages
- English only 11.9% · French only 27.2% · English and French 58.5% · neither 2.4%
- Immigrants
- 33.4% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 0.9% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 56.7% · public transit 28.4% · walking or cycling 13.0% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $63,600 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Montréal, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.030
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $50,287 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage