Montfort - Bilingual - Internal Medicine
University of OttawaMontfort, OntarioCMG stream
- Not yet posted on CaRMS
- 3 years
- CMG
- Internal Medicine
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 36414
Summary
- This is a 3-year University of Ottawa internal medicine program based mainly at Hôpital Montfort, a 300-bed acute-care community hospital.
- In first year, 9 of 13 rotations are at Montfort and the rest at The Ottawa Hospital, a tertiary teaching hospital.
- French is the working language at Montfort and English at The Ottawa Hospital.
Training
- Setting
- Urban community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- Hôpital Montfort
- Hôpital d’Ottawa – Campus Général
- Centre de cancer régional d'Ottawa
Show all 6Show fewer
- Hôpital d’Ottawa – Campus Civic
- Institut du coeur
- Hôpital d'Ottawa - Campus Riverside
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Francophone minority communities
- Training language
- English and French
- Highlights
- Most training takes place in French at Ontario's largest francophone hospital.
- Internal medicine training based in a community hospital, with ambulatory care presented as the program's strength.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- UEC (2 ième année · au moins 2 blocs · Hôpital Montfort)
- soins intensifs (2 ième année · 1 bloc · Hôpital Montfort)
- consultations en médecine interne (2 ième année · 1 bloc · Hôpital Montfort)
- consultations en médecine interne (3 ième année · 1 bloc · Hôpital Montfort)
- UEC (3 ième année · 1 bloc · Hôpital Montfort)
- médecine interne ambulatoire (3 ième année · 1 bloc · Hôpital Montfort)
- Médecine interne - soins intensifs (Montfort)
- Médecine interne - unité d'enseignement clinique (Montfort)
- Médecine interne - service de consultations (Montfort)
- Cardiologie (Montfort)
- Pneumologie (Montfort)
- Gastro-entérologie (Montfort)
- Hématologie (Montfort)
- Médecine d'urgence (Montfort)
- Maladies infectieuses (Montfort)
- Gériatrie (Montfort)
- Soins palliatifs (Montfort)
- Neurologie (Hôpital d'Ottawa)
- Néphrologie (Hôpital d'Ottawa)
- Oncologie (Hôpital d'Ottawa)
- Médecine interne - unité enseignement clinique (Hôpital d'Ottawa)
- Hématologie/oncologie (Hôpital d'Ottawa)
- CCU (coronary care unit) (Hôpital d'Ottawa)
Selection
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 21 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hôpital Montfort (Ottawa)
- Hôpital d’Ottawa – Campus Général (Ottawa)
- Centre de cancer régional d'Ottawa (Ottawa)
- Hôpital d’Ottawa – Campus Civic (Ottawa)
- Institut du coeur (Ottawa)
- Hôpital d'Ottawa - Campus Riverside (Ottawa)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program director
Dr(e) Kordan Harvey
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Dr Matthew Mulligan
Directeur - site Montfort
Fabiola Estigene
Coordonnatrice - site Montfort
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Montfort, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −9.6 °C
- July average
- 21.3 °C
- Snowfall
- 184.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 15.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,017,449 people
- Official languages
- English only 60.6% · French only 1.4% · English and French 36.4% · neither 1.5%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 76.8% · public transit 11.2% · walking or cycling 8.6% · other 3.4%
- Median household income
- $102,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Ottawa - Gatineau, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.097
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,803 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 7.2%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage