London - Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology
Western UniversityLondon, OntarioCMG stream
- 2 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 35972
Summary
- Western University's Diagnostic and Molecular Pathology program is a 5-year residency centralized at London Health Sciences Centre, University Hospital.
- PGY1 includes seven clinical Foundations blocks before pathology rotations, and core training covers surgical pathology, cytopathology, molecular pathology, neuropathology and autopsy.
- Residents must complete two research projects, one a Quality Assurance project, and forensic training is longitudinal.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- London Health Sciences Centre, University Hospital
- Regional Cancer Clinic
- Stratford General Hospital
Show all 5Show fewer
- Bluewater Health
- Grey Bruce Regional Health Centre
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Highlights
- Longitudinal, on-site forensic pathology training throughout residency.
- All city pathologists and residents work together at one centralized department site.
- Combined residency/MSc or residency/PhD programs available.
By year
- PGY-1
- Core Discipline2 blocks
- PGY-2
- Hematology-oncology
- Core grossing block
- PGY-5
- Transition to Practice7 blocks
Other rotations
- Medical Genetics / Molecular Diagnostics (Foundations of Discipline)
- Internal Medicine (Foundations of Discipline)
- Medical Oncology (Foundations of Discipline)
- General Surgery (Foundations of Discipline)
- Gynecologic Oncology (Foundations of Discipline)
- Otolaryngology (Foundations of Discipline)
- Pediatric Surgery (Foundations of Discipline)
- Pathology department (Foundations of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Surgical Pathology (PGY2-5)
- Cytopathology (PGY2-5)
- Molecular Pathology (PGY2-5)
- Neuropathology (PGY2-5)
- Autopsy (PGY2-5)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 25, 26, 27 and 28 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- London Health Sciences Centre, University Hospital (London)
- Regional Cancer Clinic (London)
- Stratford General Hospital (Stratford)
- Bluewater Health (Sarnia)
- Grey Bruce Regional Health Centre (Owen Sound)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
“Anatomical Pathology” · the program’s heading on CaRMS
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Joanna Walsh
Program Director
Faculty profile of Dr. Joanna Walsh(opens in a new tab)
Gastrointestinal and gynecologic pathology, medical education, QA
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
London, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −5.4 °C
- July average
- 21.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 152.3 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 4.5 days a year
People
- Population
- 422,324 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 7.1% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 24.8% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.9% · public transit 6.4% · walking or cycling 5.5% · other 2.2%
- Median household income
- $76,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- London, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.109
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,434 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 8.4%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage