London - Anesthesiology
Western UniversityLondon, OntarioIMG stream
From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version
- 1 position
- 5 years
- IMG
- Anesthesiology
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 29777
Summary
Western University's Anesthesiology residency program offers a flexible, comprehensive 5-year training experience with a focus on developing compassionate, skilled anesthesiologists. The program provides broad clinical exposure, innovative curriculum design, and a supportive learning environment that emphasizes individual growth and excellence.
Training
- Research
- All residents participate in a scholarly project, with financial support for conference presentations and diverse research formats including quality improvement, clinical research, and meta-analysis.
- Training setting
- Urban academic medical center with three main hospital sites in London, Ontario, serving a catchment area of over 2 million people in Southwestern Ontario.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education with a focus on progressive independence, individualized learning, and holistic development across CanMEDS roles.
- Setting types
- Academic medical center
- Tertiary referral center
- Community hospital
- Focus areas
- Subspecialty Anesthesia
- Regional Anesthesia
- Point-of-Care Ultrasound
- Simulation Training
- Perioperative Medicine
- Pediatric Anesthesia
- Cardiac Anesthesia
- Neuroanesthesia
- Obstetric Anesthesia
- Chronic Pain Management
- Patient populations
- General surgical patients
- Pediatric patients
- Obstetric patients
- Cardiac surgery patients
- Neurosurgical patients
- Transplant patients
- Emergency patients
- Highlights
- Competence by Design (CBD) curriculum
- Academic Advisor program
- Interdisciplinary simulation training
- Distributed education opportunities
- Dedicated research project support
- Point-of-Care Ultrasound rotation
- Simulation elective
- Subspecialty learning cases
- Strengths
- Comprehensive subspecialty training
- Flexible curriculum
- Strong research support
- Extensive clinical exposure
- Innovative educational approaches
- Supportive learning environment
- Enhanced skills
- Regional Anesthesia
- Point-of-Care Ultrasound
- Simulation Training
- Chronic Pain Management
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- What the program looks at
- MCCQE Part I
- NAC examination
- Medical school transcript
- Personal letter
- Reference letters
- Interview performance
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2026 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- University Hospital
- Victoria Hospital
- St. Joseph's Hospital
- Windsor Regional Hospital
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.
The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).
Location
London, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −5.4 °C
- July average
- 21.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 152.3 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 4.5 days a year
People
- Population
- 422,324 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 7.1% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 24.8% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.9% · public transit 6.4% · walking or cycling 5.5% · other 2.2%
- Median household income
- $76,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- London, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.109
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,434 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 8.4%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage