London - Anesthesiology
Western UniversityLondon, OntarioCMG stream
- 8 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Anesthesiology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36237
Summary
- Western University's five-year anesthesiology residency trains residents at University Hospital, Victoria Hospital and St. Joseph's in London.
- All residents spend 1-2 rotations at Windsor Regional Hospital, with distributed rotations' travel and accommodation funded.
- All residents complete a scholarly project, which may be research or quality improvement.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- University Hospital
- Victoria Hospital
- St. Joseph's Hospital
Show all 4Show fewer
- Windsor Regional Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Dedicated perioperative ultrasound (POCUS) rotation, introduced in 2015.
- Three dedicated regional anesthesia rotations, one at each training site.
- Hepatobiliary/liver transplant anesthesia rotation available.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Introductory Anesthesia - general OR assignments (TRANSITION TO DISCIPLINE)
- Orientation days - with an RT, in PACU, and in Preadmission Clinic (TRANSITION TO DISCIPLINE)
- Continued general anesthesia rotations (FOUNDATIONS)
- General Surgery (FOUNDATIONS)
- ENT (FOUNDATIONS)
- Internal Medicine CTU (FOUNDATIONS)
- High Risk Obstetrics Clinic (FOUNDATIONS)
- Adult Emergency Medicine (FOUNDATIONS)
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine (FOUNDATIONS)
- adult ICU (FOUNDATIONS)
- Elective blocks (FOUNDATIONS)
- Continued general anesthesia rotations (CORE)
- Cardiac (CORE)
- Neuro (CORE)
- Regional (CORE)
- Thoracic (CORE)
- Vascular (CORE)
- OB (CORE)
- Pediatrics (CORE)
- POCUS (CORE)
- Chronic Pain (CORE)
- Hepatobiliary/Liver Transplant (CORE)
- Acute Pain (CORE)
- Out-of-OR anesthesia (CORE)
- Continued consolidation year of anesthesia with a focus on more independence (TRANSITION TO PRACTICE)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 28 and 29 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- University Hospital (London)
- Victoria Hospital (London)
- St. Joseph's Hospital (London)
- Windsor Regional Hospital (Windsor · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
(519) 685-8500 (Ext 34247)Ext 33283
Linda Szabo
Postgraduate Education Coordinator
Program directors
Dr. Melissa Chin
Program Director
Dr. Malcolm Howard
Associate Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
London, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −5.4 °C
- July average
- 21.0 °C
- Snowfall
- 152.3 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 4.5 days a year
People
- Population
- 422,324 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.9% · French only 0.1% · English and French 7.1% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 24.8% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.6% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.9% · public transit 6.4% · walking or cycling 5.5% · other 2.2%
- Median household income
- $76,500 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- London, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.109
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $55,434 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 8.4%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage