Kingston - Internal Medicine
Queen’s UniversityKingston, OntarioCMG stream
- Not yet posted on CaRMS
- 3 years
- CMG
- Internal Medicine
- 401–600
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36236
Summary
- Queen's core Internal Medicine is a 3-year program of 13 four-week rotations per year.
- Training takes place at Kingston Health Sciences Centre, Hotel Dieu Hospital and Providence Care Hospital, with a required community internal medicine rotation at sites such as Belleville or Oshawa.
- All residents complete a scholarly project, with up to three blocks of protected research time.
- Senior residents do a night float rotation for acute medicine call.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Regional community
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- Kingston Health Sciences Centre
- Hotel Dieu Hospital
- Providence Care Hospital
Show all 6Show fewer
- Lakeridge Health Oshawa
- Belleville
- Humber River Regional Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Call
- In-house call · night float
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- All three electives are scheduled before Block 4 of PGY-3, so they come before CaRMS.
- Residents who do not match to a subspecialty can complete a PGY-4 year in the program.
- Internal medicine runs its own stepdown ICU for critically ill patients.
By year
- PGY-1
- Clinical Teaching Units/General Medicine5 blocks
- Cardiology
- ICU/Airway
- Palliative Care Medicine
- Elective
- Research/Selective
- Subspecialty rotations
- PGY-2
- Clinical Teaching Units/General Medicine4 blocks
- ICU2 blocks
- Elective
- Research/Selective
- Subspecialty rotations
- PGY-3
- Clinical Teaching Unit/General Medicine3-4 blocks
- Cardiac Care Unit/Cardiac Sciences Unit1 block
- Night float
- Community Internal Medicine
- Elective
- Research/Selective
- Subspecialty rotations
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 401–600
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 21, 22, 25 and 26 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Kingston Health Sciences Centre (Kingston)
- Hotel Dieu Hospital (Kingston)
- Providence Care Hospital (Kingston)
- Lakeridge Health Oshawa (Oshawa)
- Belleville (Belleville)
- Humber River Regional Hospital
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Gemma McEachern
Program Manager
Program director
Dr. Stephen Gauthier
Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Kingston, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.0 °C
- July average
- 20.8 °C
- Snowfall
- 158.0 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 13.2 days a year
People
- Population
- 132,485 people
- Official languages
- English only 85.8% · French only 0.2% · English and French 13.4% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 13.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 4.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 6.2% · walking or cycling 10.0% · other 2.3%
- Median household income
- $79,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Kingston, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.216
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.4%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,744 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.6%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage