Hamilton - Neurology - Pediatric
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Neurology - Pediatric
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36040
Summary
- McMaster's Pediatric Neurology residency is a 5-year program based at McMaster Children's Hospital in Hamilton.
- Adult neurology training takes place at Hamilton General Hospital and Juravinski Hospital, and developmental training at the Ron Joyce Children's Centre.
- Residents get 4 weeks of protected research time each year and are expected to complete a research, quality improvement or education project.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- McMaster Children’s Hospital
- McMaster University Medical Centre
- Ron Joyce Children’s Centre
Show all 5Show fewer
- Hamilton General Hospital
- Juravinski Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- A 12-week structured self-directed block on neuroanatomy and the neurosciences, assessed by written and oral examinations.
- Residents take part in a Complex Pediatric Epilepsy Program that includes epilepsy surgery evaluation and ketogenic diet management.
- In Transition to Practice, training is tailored to either an academic career or a community career.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- structured self-directed learning about the fundamentals of neuroanatomy and the neurosciences (Foundations of Discipline · 12 week)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 18 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- McMaster Children’s Hospital (Hamilton)
- McMaster University Medical Centre (Hamilton)
- Ron Joyce Children’s Centre (Hamilton)
- Hamilton General Hospital (Hamilton)
- Juravinski Hospital (Hamilton)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. David Callen
Program Director
(Maternity Leave)
Dr. Michelle Jaeggi
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage