Hamilton - Cardiac Surgery
McMaster UniversityHamilton, OntarioCMG stream
- 1 position
- 6 years
- CMG
- Cardiac Surgery
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36212
Summary
- McMaster's cardiac surgery residency is a 6-year, single-site program based at Hamilton General Hospital.
- PGY-3 is an academic enrichment year, typically extended into a Masters or PhD.
- Pediatric cardiac surgery is done in PGY-4 or PGY-5 in Toronto, Halifax or Edmonton.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- Hamilton General Hospital
- McMaster University Medical Centre
- St. Joseph's Hospital
Show all 6Show fewer
- The Hospital for Sick Children
- University of Alberta
- Dalhousie University
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · protected time
- Highlights
- Mastery-learning simulation curriculum covering ECMO cannulation, aortic dissection, mitral repair, TAVI and aortic root procedures.
- Formal agreements with three centres for the pediatric cardiac surgery rotation.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- pediatric cardiac surgical rotation (PGY-4 and 5 · Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto, Dalhousie University in Halifax, or University of Alberta in Edmonton)
- Surgical Foundations (McMaster University Medical Centre)
- Thoracic Surgery (St. Joseph's Hospital)
- Pediatric Cardiac Surgery & VAD/Heart Failure (University of Alberta - Edmonton)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
| PGY-6 | $104,167 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Hamilton General Hospital (Hamilton)
- McMaster University Medical Centre (Hamilton)
- St. Joseph's Hospital (Hamilton)
- The Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
- University of Alberta (Edmonton)
- Dalhousie University (Halifax)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Dominic Parry
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −3.1 °C
- July average
- 21.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 114.5 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.7 days a year
People
- Population
- 569,353 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.3% · French only 0.1% · English and French 5.8% · neither 1.9%
- Immigrants
- 25.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 2.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.4% · public transit 7.4% · walking or cycling 5.2% · other 2.0%
- Median household income
- $86,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Hamilton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.066
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.5%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,504 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage