Halifax - Obstetrics and Gynecology
Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCMG stream
- 5 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Obstetrics and Gynecology
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35750
Summary
- Dalhousie's five-year Obstetrics and Gynecology residency trains mainly at the IWK Health Centre and QEII in Halifax, tertiary and quaternary referral centres for the Maritimes.
- Residents complete community obstetrics and gynecology blocks in Saint John, New Brunswick.
- All residents must complete a scholarly project, supported by a PGY1 research course and protected research days.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
2 teaching sites
- IWK Health Centre
- Saint John Regional Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Procedural emphasis
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Call
- In-house and home call · night float
- Highlights
- Only high-risk obstetrical centre in the Maritimes.
- Very few fellows, so residents get more operating room time.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Surgical Foundations Boot Camp (Transition to Discipline)
- Obstetrics & Gynaecology Boot Camp (Transition to Discipline · two blocks)
- general surgery (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- community obstetrics (Foundations of Discipline · 2 blocks · Saint John, NB)
- research (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- emergency (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- internal medicine (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- obs gyn (Foundations of Discipline · 2 blocks)
- ICU (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- gyne oncology (Foundations of Discipline · 2 blocks)
- Gynecology (Foundations of Discipline · 2 blocks · Saint John, New Brunswick)
- reproductive endocrinology and infertility (Core of Discipline · 3 block (minimum))
- maternal fetal medicine (Core of Discipline · 3 block (minimum))
- gynecological oncology (Core of Discipline · 3 block (minimum))
- urogynecology (Core of Discipline · 3 block (minimum))
- electives (national and international) (Core of Discipline)
- community selectives (Core of Discipline · within the Atlantic provinces)
- Chief Resident (Core of Discipline · Six to seven blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 1, 2 and 3 Feb 2027
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
| PGY-3 | $89,462 / year |
| PGY-4 | $95,485 / year |
| PGY-5 | $101,926 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- IWK Health Centre (Halifax)
- Saint John Regional Hospital (Saint John · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
IWK Health Centre
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Saint John Regional Hospital
- Inpatient beds
- 445
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Leanne McCarthy
Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Halifax, Nova Scotia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −4.1 °C
- July average
- 18.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 215.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 439,819 people
- Official languages
- English only 87.1% · French only 0.1% · English and French 12.2% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 11.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 8.0% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $81,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Halifax, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.199
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,855 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage