Halifax - Medical Microbiology
Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCMG streamNew for 2027
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Medical Microbiology
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 37064
Summary
- This is a five-year Medical Microbiology residency based at the QEII Health Sciences Centre in Halifax, a tertiary and quaternary care centre.
- Training combines microbiology laboratory blocks, adult and pediatric ID, AMS/IPAC, research blocks and community experience in New Brunswick.
- The program typically has one to three residents in training at a time.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Public health agency
- Sites
4 teaching sites
- Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre (QEII HSC)
- Halifax Infirmary (HI)
- Victoria General (VG) Hospital
Show all 4Show fewer
- IWK
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Training lab is the Atlantic reference lab and Nova Scotia provincial lab, with an on-site CL-3 lab.
- Senior residents complete junior attending blocks in both ID and medical microbiology.
By year
- PGY-1
- introduction to Medical Microbiology (MM) and Infectious Diseases (ID)2 blocks
- various clinical service blocks9
- selective blocks2
- PGY-2
- microbiology laboratory training5 blocks
- adult ID3 blocks
- pediatric ID1 block
- antimicrobial stewardship (AMS) or infection prevention and control (IPAC)1 block
- selective blocks2
- research block1
- PGY-3
- microbiology laboratory training6 blocks
- adult ID2 blocks
- pediatric ID1 block
- AMS or IPAC1 block
- ambulatory care1 block
- community ID1 block
- selective1 block
- PGY-4
- microbiology laboratory training4 blocks
- adult ID including 2 blocks ID junior attending4 blocks
- AMS or IPAC1 block
- community MM1 block
- research block1
- selective blocks2
- PGY-5
- microbiology laboratory training including 2 block MM junior attending7 blocks
- adult ID1 block
- public health1 block
- AMS/IPAC1 block
- community ID1
- selective1
- research block1
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 19 and 26 Jan 2027
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
| PGY-3 | $89,462 / year |
| PGY-4 | $95,485 / year |
| PGY-5 | $101,926 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre (QEII HSC) (Halifax)
- Halifax Infirmary (HI) (Halifax)
- Victoria General (VG) Hospital (Halifax)
- IWK (Halifax)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre (QEII HSC)
QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Halifax Infirmary (HI)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Victoria General (VG) Hospital
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
IWK
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Unfilled positions in past years
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program director
Dr. Ian Davis
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Halifax, Nova Scotia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −4.1 °C
- July average
- 18.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 215.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 439,819 people
- Official languages
- English only 87.1% · French only 0.1% · English and French 12.2% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 11.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 8.0% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $81,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Halifax, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.199
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,855 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage