Fraser - Anesthesiology
University of British ColumbiaFraser, British ColumbiaCMG streamNew for 2027
- 4 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Anesthesiology
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36947
Summary
- The Fraser track is a five-year UBC Anesthesiology residency entry track with a Fraser Health clinical home, sharing the curriculum of the Vancouver track.
- PGY-1 is completed at Royal Columbian Hospital, with most anesthesia rotations at Fraser Health sites including Surrey Memorial Hospital.
- Residents must complete a 4-week block in Victoria and another outside the Lower Mainland, and all complete scholarly work.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
16 teaching sites
- Royal Columbian Hospital
- Surrey Memorial Hospital
- Burnaby Hospital
Show all 16Show fewer
- Abbotsford Regional Hospital and Cancer Centre
- BC Children’s Hospital
- BC Women’s Hospital + Health Centre
- Vancouver General Hospital
- St. Paul’s Hospital
- Royal Jubilee Hospital
- Victoria General Hospital
- Kelowna General Hospital
- Royal Inland Hospital
- University Hospital of Northern British Columbia
- Penticton Regional Hospital
- Nanaimo Regional General Hospital
- East Kootenay Regional Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Call
- In-house call
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Required rotations away from the home region are university-supported, including travel and accommodation.
- Applicants to both Fraser and Vancouver tracks complete one combined interview used for both rank lists.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- block in Victoria (PGY-3 to PGY-5 · 4-week block · Victoria)
- additional 4-week block elsewhere in British Columbia outside the Lower Mainland (PGY-3 to PGY-5 · 4-week block · elsewhere in British Columbia outside the Lower Mainland)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 2, 3 and 4 Feb 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Frequency of calls
- 1 in 4 onsite/1 in 3 offsite
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Royal Columbian Hospital (New Westminster)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (Surrey)
- Burnaby Hospital (Burnaby)
- Abbotsford Regional Hospital and Cancer Centre (Abbotsford)
- BC Children’s Hospital (Vancouver)
- BC Women’s Hospital + Health Centre (Vancouver)
- Vancouver General Hospital (Vancouver)
- St. Paul’s Hospital (Vancouver)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (Victoria · rural or distributed site)
- Victoria General Hospital (Victoria · rural or distributed site)
- Kelowna General Hospital (Kelowna · rural or distributed site)
- Royal Inland Hospital (Kamloops · rural or distributed site)
- University Hospital of Northern British Columbia (Prince George · rural or distributed site)
- Penticton Regional Hospital (Penticton · rural or distributed site)
- Nanaimo Regional General Hospital (Nanaimo · rural or distributed site)
- East Kootenay Regional Hospital (Cranbrook · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Royal Columbian Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,798
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,447
Surrey Memorial Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 11,911
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,849
Burnaby Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,388
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,058
Show facts for 13 more sitesShow fewer
Abbotsford Regional Hospital and Cancer Centre
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 6,232
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,667
BC Children’s Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
BC Women’s Hospital + Health Centre
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 5,033
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,348
Vancouver General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
St. Paul’s Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Royal Jubilee Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 14,532
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,973
Victoria General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,131
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,108
Kelowna General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,707
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,090
Royal Inland Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 10,812
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,914
University Hospital of Northern British Columbia
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,520
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,127
Penticton Regional Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 3,482
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 837
Nanaimo Regional General Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 9,004
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,040
East Kootenay Regional Hospital
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 4,520
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,068
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program directors
Dr. Christopher Nixon-Giles
Associate Program Director
Dr. Zoe Brown
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Fraser, British Columbia