Calgary - Vascular Surgery
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Vascular Surgery
- 51–200
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36441
Summary
- This is a 5-year vascular surgery residency based at the Peter Lougheed Centre in Calgary, covering five major hospital sites in the city.
- The service is a quaternary referral centre serving a catchment of about 3.2 million people.
- Residents complete Surgical Foundations first, followed by four years of senior, enrichment and elective rotations.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- Peter Lougheed Centre
- Foothills Medical Centre
- Arthur J.E. Child Comprehensive Cancer Centre
Show all 7Show fewer
- Alberta Children's Hospital
- Rockyview General Hospital
- South Health Campus
- Zivot Limb Preservation Clinic
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Two hybrid OR suites built specifically for vascular surgery, plus a dedicated vascular step-down unit and ward.
- Works with Cardiac Surgery on complex aortic cases, including arch and thoracoabdominal procedures.
- Works with podiatrists in a dedicated limb preservation and vascular risk reduction clinic.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Vascular Surgery
- Surgical Foundations
- Internal Medicine
- General Surgery Access
- General Surgery Trauma
- Cardiac Care
- Vascular Anesthesia
- Angiography
- Ultrasound & Vascular Lab
- Research
- Transplant Surgery
- ICU
- Podiatry
- Cardiac Surgery
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 21 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,698 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Peter Lougheed Centre (Calgary)
- Foothills Medical Centre (Calgary)
- Arthur J.E. Child Comprehensive Cancer Centre (Calgary)
- Alberta Children's Hospital (Calgary)
- Rockyview General Hospital (Calgary)
- South Health Campus (Calgary)
- Zivot Limb Preservation Clinic (Calgary)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Kenton Rommens
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Calgary, Alberta
Loading amenities…
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.6 °C
- July average
- 16.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 138.7 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 21.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,306,784 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.5%
- Immigrants
- 33.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 83.2% · public transit 8.8% · walking or cycling 5.1% · other 2.9%
- Median household income
- $98,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Calgary, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.106
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 4.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,153 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage