Calgary - Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCMG stream
- 3 positions
- 5 years
- CMG
- Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35678
Summary
- This is a 5-year Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation residency at the University of Calgary, accepting three residents per year.
- Inpatient training is at Foothills Medical Centre, with outpatient rotations at clinics across Calgary.
- The curriculum includes research blocks and a 13-block Transition to Practice stage of longitudinal electives.
- Residents take home call for the neurorehabilitation unit.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
15 teaching sites
- Foothills Medical Centre
- Rockyview General Hospital
- South Health Campus
Show all 15Show fewer
- Peter Lougheed Centre
- Kinesis Medical Centre
- Alberta Neurologic Centre
- Infini Health
- University of Calgary Sports Medicine Clinic
- Chronic Pain Centre
- Innovations Clinic
- Evidence Sport and Spine
- Group23 Sports Medicine
- Southland Sports Medicine
- Southland EMG
- Catalyst for Health
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Procedural emphasis
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Call
- Home call · frequency “between 4-7 times per month”
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Highlights
- Annual joint OSCE and research day with University of Alberta and University of Saskatchewan.
- Ultrasound- and fluoroscopic-guided interventional training in anatomy lab and clinical settings.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- inpatient neurorehabilitation on Brain Injury or Spinal Cord Injury Rehabilitation (Transition To Discipline · 1 block)
- outpatient clinics in General Physiatry & Outpatient Musculoskeletal Rehabilitation (Transition To Discipline · 1 block)
- General Internal Medicine (Foundations of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Neurology (Foundations of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Orthopedic Surgery (Foundations of Discipline · 2 blocks)
- Rheumatology (Foundations of Discipline · 1 blocks)
- Geriatrics (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- Psychiatry (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- Emergency Medicine (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- Palliative Care (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- Surgical Clinics (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- Cardiac Rehabilitation (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- Research (Introductory Course) (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
- Brain Injury Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Stroke Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Spinal Cord Injury Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Prosthetics & Orthotics or Amputee Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Neuromuscular/Electromyography Medicine (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Musculoskeletal Rehabilitation/Chronic Pain (Core of Discipline · 6 blocks)
- Pediatric Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Cancer Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline · 1 block)
- Research (Core of Discipline · 3 blocks)
- Quality Improvement (Core of Discipline · 1 block)
- Electives or Clinics & Consults as organized by the senior resident (Core of Discipline · 5 blocks)
- longitudinal electives organized in consultation with the resident's academic advisor & program director (Transition To Practice · 13 blocks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 19 and 20 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,698 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Foothills Medical Centre (Calgary)
- Rockyview General Hospital (Calgary)
- South Health Campus (Calgary)
- Peter Lougheed Centre (Calgary)
- Kinesis Medical Centre (Calgary)
- Alberta Neurologic Centre (Calgary)
- Infini Health (Calgary)
- University of Calgary Sports Medicine Clinic (Calgary)
- Chronic Pain Centre (Calgary)
- Innovations Clinic (Calgary)
- Evidence Sport and Spine (Calgary)
- Group23 Sports Medicine (Calgary)
- Southland Sports Medicine (Calgary)
- Southland EMG (Calgary)
- Catalyst for Health (Calgary)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Rebecca Charbonneau
Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Other contacts
Dr. Gentson Leung
Competence-By-Design Lead
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Calgary, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.6 °C
- July average
- 16.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 138.7 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 21.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,306,784 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.5%
- Immigrants
- 33.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 83.2% · public transit 8.8% · walking or cycling 5.1% · other 2.9%
- Median household income
- $98,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Calgary, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.106
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 4.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,153 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage